Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Books: January 2020
Communicating Science Effectively by
Science and technology are embedded in virtually every aspect of modern life. As a result, people face an increasing need to integrate information from science with their personal values and other considerations as they make important life decisions about medical care, the safety of foods, what to do about climate change, and many other issues.
A guide to the sea slugs of the Maputaland coast by
'"A Guide to the Sea Slugs of the Maputaland Coast”... covers an amazing 356 species, exemplifying both the richness of the nudibranch fauna along the short stretch of coastline between Sodwana and Maputo, and the diligence of the authors.
Commercial and bycatch market fishes of Panay Island, Republic of the Philippines. by
The Philippines is part of the Coral Triangle in the western Pacific Ocean. This region is believed to be hosting from 2,000 to 3,000 fish species as well as the center of marine fish diversity. Yet there is hardly a good reference to guide field researchers working on fish taxonomy and fisheries. This field guide will be an important general reference for fish taxonomy and related subjects at the graduate and undergraduate levels.
Biology, Ecology and Culture of Grey Mullets (Mugilidae) by
Mullets (grey mullets) are a family (Mugilidae) and order of ray-finned fish found in temperate and tropical waters worldwide. There are approximately 80 species of mullet; these fish have been considered an important food source in Mediterranean Europe since Roman times. This book provides a long overdue update on the biology and ecology of mullets and features comprehensive coverage of the key features of the Mugilidae family, such as recent DNA evidence and morphological data that challenge the traditional taxonomy.
Stressors in the Marine Environment by
Anthropogenic changes to the marine environment are causing some considerable concern and yet there is very little information on the overall effects of either single or multiple human influences on species, populations, or, indeed, communities.
Tunas and Billfishes of the World by
In Tunas and Billfishes of the World, Bruce Collette, a leading marine ichthyologist and conservationist, and John Graves, an expert on the biology, fisheries, and management of tunas and billfishes, focus on three families of fishes: Scombridae, the mackerels and tunas; Istiophoridae, sailfish and marlins; and Xiphiidae, the Swordfish.
Order Beloniformes - Needlefishes, Sauries, Halfbeaks, and Flyingfishes by
The final volume in the Fishes of the Western North Atlantic series covers the Beloniformes, a diverse order of fishes containing six families and at least two hundred and thirty extant species found worldwide in marine and freshwater environments. This excellently illustrated, authoritative book describes the thirty-eight species of beloniform fishes—needlefishes, sauries, halfbeaks, and flyingfishes—that live in the western Atlantic Ocean.
Sea Urchins by
This fully revised and expanded edition of Sea Urchins provides a wide-ranging understanding of the biology and ecology of this key component of the world's oceans. Coverage includes reproduction, metabolism, endocrinology, larval ecology, growth, digestion, carotenoids, disease and nutrition.
The Sea Cucumber Apostichopus Japonicus by
While sea cucumber is one of China's and Asia’s most prized seafoods, and aquaculture programs are being developed on a huge commercial scale, Chinese expertise and knowledge in this area has not been well disseminated worldwide. The Sea Cucumber Apostichopus japonicus is the first book to bridge this gap by compiling key information related to hatchery and aquaculture techniques, nutritional and medical values, markets, and trade flow of the number one sea cucumber species.
Seascape Ecology by
Seascape Ecology provides a comprehensive look at the state-of-the-science in the application of landscape ecology to the seas and provides guidance for future research priorities. The first book devoted exclusively to this rapidly emerging and increasingly important discipline, it is comprised of contributions from researchers at the forefront of seascape ecology working around the world.