Margaret Smith Library, SAIAB: New Books: February 2022

This book is concerned with cheating in Science and the harm that it does, concentrating on three disasters in cell culture, which caused international concern and personal tragedy for the perpetrators. There is an overview of plant, animal and human cheating, providing a background to the focus on Science. This demands a special form of truth in that claims need to be substantiated by repetition in independent laboratories to confirm that the claims work.

The book opens with chapters setting the historical context for the two marine governance streams, and framing the book’s exploration of whether, as the streams increasingly interact, there will be merger or collision, convergence or co-evolution. The concluding chapter synthesizes the insights from throughout the book, relative to the questions posed in the opening chapters.

Ocean Wave Dynamics is the most up-to-date book of its kind on the three main processes responsible for the generation and evolution of ocean waves: (i) atmospheric input from the wind, (ii) wave breaking and (iii) nonlinear interactions.Ocean waves are important for many reasons. They are the major environmental impact on in the design of coastal or offshore structures. Ocean waves are also fundamental to the processes of coastal flooding and beach erosion.

The book provides a practical and readable guide to getting the most out of attending a scientific conference. The topics covered include writing an abstract, preparing and presenting a poster or talk, chairing a session, making good use of poster and oral sessions, and networking. Also included is practical advice on registering for a conference and planning travel. Aimed primarily at PhD students who are attending their first conference, it is also relevant to junior postdoctoral scientists.

Biologists always need to grapple with integrating two explanatory approaches. On the one hand, there is necessarily an effort to drill down to the lowest possible level to explain what is happening in whatever is being studied. That involves looking at how higher-level processes arise from lower level ones. On the other hand, there is a need to consider how the broader context influences bottom-up processes; that involves looking at how the whole influences the parts.

Rethinking Evolution links Darwin's early insights to the molecular realm inside living cells. This updated evolutionary synthesis provides an accessible explanation for biological complexity that cuts through the confusion surrounding evolutionary theory in a practical way. In addition to a wide-ranging survey of proposed updates to the modern synthesis, this title provides extraordinary new insights including emergent evolutionary potential and the generative phenotype.

As the volume of marine big data has increased dramatically, one of the main concerns is how to fully exploit the value of such data in the development of marine economy and marine science and technology. The book covers data acquisition, feature classification, processing and applications of marine big data in evaluation and decision-making, using case studies such as storm surge and marine oil spill disaster.

This book brings together the state of our knowledge on the interactions between climate change and marine biota. It focusses broadly on the environmental stressors during the Anthropocene period; when human activities started to have a significant global impact on earth's geological imprint and ecosystems.

This thought-provoking publication covers a wide-range of innovative areas of research and technologies that are unlocking groundbreaking new potentials in science. It contains important scientific information gleaned from the lectures of some of the world's experts in their respective fields. The book offers 'exceptional scientific insights, oftentimes addressing challenges before they are even recognized as questions.

Challenging the formality and idealized settings of conventional methods teaching and opting instead for a real world approach to social research, this book offers frank, practical advice designed to empower students and researchers alike. Theoretically robust and with an exhaustive coverage of key methodologies and methods the title establishes the cornerstones of social research.

The book conceptualises the importance of aquatic and wetland plants in the aquatic and transitional zone environment where they are found and includes scientifically accurate descriptions of 690 species within 91 plant families, illustrated with more than 2000 full-colour photographs. Features:
- An introductory chapter on the importance and functioning of the aquatic and wetland habitat types

This book can potentially serve as a comprehensive textbook for students pursuing this subject either as degree or an elective course. It covers all the fundamental physics behind the different phenomena taking place in the near shore regions and the coast as well as the various methods to estimate its impact. Basic knowledge of water wave mechanics is crucial in understanding the coastal processes taking place in the near shore.

This textbook is useful for undergraduate students, postgraduate students and practicing engineers. It covers waves, structures, sediment movement, coastal management, and contemporary coastal design and decision making. It discusses the traditional methods of analysis and synthesis (design), but also contemporary design methodologies, such as working with environmental impacts.

This volume focuses on a few renewable energy sources, viz. wind energy plus energy from water movement and natural temperature differences that in principle could provide enormous energy resources. Energy from wind has been a rapidly growing source of energy as wind turbines have grown in size and especially as wind turbines have moved offshore. Hydroelectric dams have continued to be used as energy sources particularly in developing countries.