Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Margaret Smith Library, SAIAB: Essential e-Resources

The library at the South African Institute for Aquatic Biodiversity contributes to research and teaching in the aquatic sciences through heritage collections and a global web of data. Resources and services are shared with Rhodes University Library

e-Books

e-Books (Online Books)

For RU Library users. A guide on how to find and use e-Books in your research using e-Book platforms. Links to a variety of e-Books and how to read them on your computer and/or download them to an e-reading device.

Try searching the A-Z e-books for yourself to find more books like these:

DIFS II

DVDs and CD-ROMS

You can search for DVDs and CD-ROMS by subject on this RU Library Subject Guide

OR as a keyword Search type in your word and DVD e.g : DVD fish* 

Many DVDs we have are also available on  YouTube

Rivers of life, oceans of plenty

Highlights from the first surveys of the mesophotic reefs in the Pondoland no-take MPA

Assessment of the effectiveness of reef fish conservation in the Amathole region of South Africa

Reference Works on ScienceDirect

  • Comprehensive review of a field
  • An ideal starting point Short articles and entries reference primary journal articles for more in-depth study.
  • Link quickly and easily: link within the work or outward to primary full-text journal articles
  • Not all articles are full text, but all include figures and further references to explore.
  • Each article has numerous related articles that are full text.

Look for the boxes next to the article

Full-text available = Full-text available                Abstract only = Abstract only
 

Encyclopedia of Quaternary science

Encyclopedia of ecology

Encyclopedia of Fish Physiology: From Genome to Environment

Encyclopedia of microbiology (third edition).

International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences

Treatise on estuarine and coastal science

Treatise on Estuarine and Coastal Science

Treatise on Estuarine and Coastal Science

Editors-in-Chief: Eric Wolanski and Donald McLusky is Reference Work
ISBN: 978-0-08-087885-0
Copyright © 2011 Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Volume 1: Classification of Estuarine and Nearshore Coastal Ecosystems
Volume 2: Water and Fine Sediment Circulation
Volume 3: Estuarine and Coastal Geology and Geomorphology
Volume 4: Geochemistry of Estuaries and Coasts
Volume 5: Biogeochemistry
Volume 6: Trophic Relationships of Coastal and Estuarine Ecosystems
Volume 7: Functioning of Ecosystems at the Land–Ocean Interface
Volume 8: Human-Induced Problems (Uses and Abuses)
Volume 9: Estuarine and Coastal Ecosystem Modelling
Volume 10: Ecohydrology and Restoration
Volume 11: Management of Estuaries and Coasts
Volume 12: Ecological Economics of Estuaries and Coasts

This multi-volume work is also availabe in print at  RU Science Library level 2

Encyclopedia of Fish Physiology

Encyclopedia of Fish Physiology: from Genome to environment

Editor-in-Chief: Anthony P. Farrell
ISBN: 978-0-08-092323-9
Copyright © 2011 Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved


Volume 1: The Senses, Supporting Tissues, Reproduction, and Behavior
Sensing the Environment
Muscles, Skeleton, Skin, and Movement
Reproduction
Behavior and Physiology

Volume 2: Gas Exchange, Internal Homeostatis, and Food Uptake
Gas Exchange
Circulation
The Gut
Hormonal Controls

Volume 3: Energetics, Interactions with the Environment, Lifestyles, and Applications
Energetics
Responses and Adaptations to the Environment
Physiological Specializations of Different Fish Groups
Applied Aspects of Fish Physiology