Skip to main content

Margaret Smith Library, SAIAB: Specify Fish and Amphibian Collections at SAIAB

The library at the South African Institute for Aquatic Biodiversity contributes to research and teaching in the aquatic sciences through heritage collections and a global web of data. Resources and services are shared with Rhodes University Library

National Fish Collection

SAIAB is the custodian of the National Fish Collection of South Africa.  The collection consists of about 80 000 lots of fish specimens (containing at least 650 000 individual fish specimens) from southern Africa and surrounding oceans, and from elsewhere in the world.  It is the world’s largest collection of southern African fishes.

As well as adult and larval specimens preserved in propanol and ethanol (the vast majority), the collection and associated material consists of preparations of genetic material, cleared and stained preparations, dry skins and skeletons, otoliths, X-rays, photographs, drawings and paintings of fishes.

About 7500 species in about 400 families are represented in the collection.

Search the National Fish Collection
  Record data -- Images -- Maps

Read more about the Collection Facility

Link to the Molecular Laboratory page

National Amphibian Collection

Diversifying the natural history collection has been an on-going focus of curation at SAIAB for some years. Specifically, the recently established amphibian collection has been developing steadily. The collection comprises amphibian specimens, tissues, photographs, x-rays, recordings of calls and literature. These different collection objects are at varying stages of development: the specimen, tissue and literature collections are the most advanced.

As this is a new collection, and by no means the most comprehensive for southern Africa, our aim is to achieve high quality collection resources and to provide facilities to examine these.
 Read more

Search the Amphibian Collection
  Record data -- Images -- Maps

Link to the Eddie van Dijk Collection page at the Margaret Smith Library
for bibliographies and codes.