Skip to main content

Margaret Smith Library, SAIAB: Home

The library at the South African Institute for Aquatic Biodiversity contributes to research and teaching in the aquatic sciences through heritage collections and a global web of data. Resources and services are shared with Rhodes University Library

Welcome to Our Library

HOURS AND CONTACT DETAILS

MON - FRI 08h00-13h00; 14h00-17h00, 
Closed weekends and public  holidays

Find us on the lower ground floor of the SAIAB Building, Somerset Street, Grahamstown.

Tel   046-603-5838 / 046 603-5802
Fax  046-622-2403

Private Bag 1015
GRAHAMSTOWN
6140 South Africa

Ask the Librarians  |  SAIAB Website 

About SAIAB

Situated in Grahamstown in the Eastern Cape, the South African Institute for Aquatic Biodiversity SAIAB) is an internationally recognised centre for the study of aquatic biodiversity.

What's New

 New Items in the Library    Featured YouTube video: Open Science

Cedarberg Student Research (SAIAB/WRC)
Read the article

Featured Resource

Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide (FFAB) (Rhodes University Library link)
Electronic information resource which is an aggregation of 19 bibliographic databases from around the world. Includes detailed keyword indexing, abstracts and direct links to full text where available. The database also includes deep links from species names to FishBase which offers full-text species profiles and fish illustrations for 31 400 species of fish. Read more at NISC

The FISHLIT database is compiled by NISC in association with Margaret Smith Library. Unique historical coverage back to the 1800s. Many fish type descriptions.


Link to earlier 
Featured Resources

 

Using RU Library Logins at SAIAB

Library users using SAIAB IP addresses are Off-campus users. For RU Library resources, you will be directed to this page

You will be prompted for

  • Surname (library login name)
    as registered at the library
  • Barcode number (Rhodes)
    6 followed by student number
  • PIN
    in order to access the library resources

If you do not have access please register here for your "My Library account"

  • you must select your own PIN 
  • you must be registered for the current year as a RU Library user

Note: The librarians at SAIAB cannot register you -- do this at the RU Library Circulation Desk.

Biodiversity Heritage Library User Survey 2017

   

Are you a user of the Biodiversity Heritage Library? 
http://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/ 

BHL needs your feedback!

What improvements would you like to see in BHL?

Please take our survey and help make this amazing
Open Access resource even better!
s.si.edu/BHLUserSurvey

Open till Friday 28th July 2017

Rhodes University Library "Search All"

Comprehensive search of catalogue, articles, journals, books, media across all RU Libraries and the holdings at NMMU, UFH and WSU Libraries.

Rhodes University / SAIAB Libraries Online Catalogue

Eduroam

This network is intended for staff & students from Rhodes as well as from other eduroam participating organisations.

academic email address @wf.ru.ac.za
and password

Rhodes students
student number@wf.ru.ac.za
password

Needing Help? Ask Us!

Welcome to The Rhodes University Library Ask Us!

 

 

Questions? We've got answers for you!

  • search for answers to previous questions by keyword e.g.: anthropology database

  • browse our topics

  • ask a new question

For more urgent and complex questions, please contact your Faculty Librarian.

Please note that your questions and our answers may be made public to assist other users of the Library's services.  All personal information will be removed from questions to retain privacy.

You can also search the Subject Guides for answers

Open Access Week 2016 | October 24 - 30, 2016 | Everywhere