Research Data Management: Quantitative Research Design for Data Collection

Quantitative Research Design for Data Collection

Quantitative Research Methodologies

Quantitative Research Instruments

Quantitative methodology is the dominant research framework in the social sciences. It refers to a set of strategies, techniques and assumptions used to study psychological, social and economic processes through the exploration of numeric patterns. Quantitative research gathers a range of numeric data. The University of Texas at Arlington

In contrast to quantitative studies, which are about breadth and numerical data, qualitative research focuses on depth and capturing insights. Qualitative research is more about the “why” and “how” rather than the “how many”, or “how often”. Deakin University

Quantitative research is a systematic investigation of phenomena by gathering quantifiable data and performing statistical, mathematical, or computational techniques. Quantitative research collects information from existing and potential customers using sampling methods and sending out online surveys, online polls, and questionnaires, for example.

The results of which can be depicted in the form of numerical. After careful understanding of these numbers to predict the future of a product or service and make changes accordingly. QuestionPro

Research methodology is a way of explaining how a researcher intends to carry out their research. It is a logical, systematic plan to resolve a research problem. A methodology details a researcher's approach to the research to ensure reliable, valid results that address their aims and objectives. It encompasses what data they are going to collect and where from, as well as how it's being collected and analyzed. Indeed

Research methods are the strategies, processes or techniques utilized in the collection of data or evidence for analysis in order to uncover new information or create better understanding of a topic. There are different types of research methods which use different tools for data collection. University of Newcastle

The collection of quantitative information allows researchers to conduct simple to extremely sophisticated statistical analyses that aggregate the data (e.g. averages, percentages), show relationships among the data (e.g. ‘Students with lower grade point averages tend to score lower on a depression scale’) or compare across aggregated data (e.g. the USA has a higher gross domestic product than Spain). Quantitative research includes methodologies such as questionnaires, structured observations or experiments and stands in contrast to qualitative research. Qualitative research involves the collection and analysis of narratives and/or open-ended observations through methodologies such as interviews, focus groups or ethnographies. The University of Texas at Arlington

Quantitative methodologies use statistics to analyze numerical data gathered by researchers to answer their research questions. Quantitative methods can be used to answer questions such as:

• What are the relationships between two or more variables? 
• What factors are at play in an environment that might affect the behavior or development of the organisms in that environment?

Quantitative methods can also be used to test hypotheses by conducting quasi-experimental studies or designing experiments.

In quantitative research, a variable is something (an intervention technique, a pharmaceutical, a temperature, etc.) that changes. There are two kinds of variables: independent variables and dependent variables. In the simplest terms, the independent variable is whatever the researchers are using to attempt to make a change in their dependent variable.

Case studies

A case study is a detailed study of a specific subject, such as a person, group, place, event, organization, or phenomenon. Case studies are commonly used in social, educational, clinical, and business research. In depth description of the experience of a single person, a family, a group, a community or an organisation. Deakin University

A case study research design usually involves qualitative methods, but quantitative methods are sometimes also used. Case studies are good for describing, comparing, evaluating and understanding different aspects of a research problem. Scribbr

Case studies are often used to share novel or unique information, case studies consist of a detailed, in-depth description of a single subject, pilot project, and specific events. Utah Valley University

Instruments

• Observation
• Interview
• Oral recording
• Documents Deakin University

Correlational

Researchers will compare two sets of numbers to try and identify a relationship (if any) between two things. Utah Valley University

Correlational research is a type of non-experimental research method in which a researcher measures two variables and understands and assesses the statistical relationship between them with no influence from any extraneous variable. QuestionPro

Descriptive

Researchers will attempt to quantify a variety of factors at play as they study a particular type of phenomenon or action. For example, researchers might use a descriptive methodology to understand the effects of climate change on the life cycle of a plant or animal. Utah Valley University

Descriptive research refers to the methods that describe the characteristics of the variables under study. This methodology focuses on answering questions relating to “what” than the “why” of the research subject. The primary focus of descriptive research is to simply describe the nature of the demographics understudy instead of focusing on the “why”. Voxco

Mapping & longitudinal

Geodata

Geographic Information System (GIS)

Geography and data 

UK Data Service

Experimental

Experimental research is research conducted with a scientific approach using two sets of variables. The first set acts as a constant, which you use to measure the differences of the second set. Quantitative research methods, for example, are experimental.

If you don’t have enough data to support your decisions, you must first determine the facts. Experimental research gathers the data necessary to help you make better decisions. QuestionPro

To understand the effects of a variable, researchers will design an experiment where they can control as many factors as possible. This can involve creating control and experimental groups. The experimental group will be exposed to the variable to study its effects. The control group provides data about what happens when the variable is absent. For example, in a study about online teaching, the control group might receive traditional face-to-face instruction while the experimental group would receive their instruction virtually.  Utah Valley University

Experimental data is 

• data from experimental results, e.g. from lab equipment
• often reproducible, but can be expensive e.g. chromatograms, microassays. UK Data Service

Independent and Dependent Variables

In quantitative research, a variable is something (an intervention technique, a pharmaceutical, a temperature, etc.) that changes. There are two kinds of variables: independent variables and dependent variables. In the simplest terms, the independent variable is whatever the researchers are using to attempt to make a change in their dependent variable.

Utah Valley University

Quasi-Experimental/Quasi-Comparative

Researchers will attempt to determine what (if any) effect a variable can have. These studies may have multiple independent variables (causes) and multiple dependent variables (effects), but this can complicate researchers' efforts to find out if A can cause B or if X, Y, and Z are also playing a role. Utah Valley University

Surveys

Surveys can be considered a quantitative methodology if the researchers require their respondents to choose from pre-determined responses. Utah Valley University