LibGuides: English: English Honours

Africa in the World by Dr Thando Njovane 2019

On the postcolony by Mbembe,Achille
Call Number: 325.3096 MBE
ISBN: 9790520204354
On the Postcolony Achille Mbembe profoundly renews our understanding of power and subjectivity in Africa. In a series of provocative essays, Mbembe contests diehard Africanist and nativist perspectives as well as some of the key assumptions of postcolonial theory.

Barcode:14192387
Black Skin, White Masks by Frantz Fanon
Call Number: 323.1 FAN
ISBN: 9780745328485
Fanon's descriptions of the feelings of inadequacy and dependence experienced by people of colour in a white world are as salient and as compelling as ever. Fanon identifies a devastating pathology at the heart of Western culture, a denial of difference, that persists to this day. His writings speak to all who continue the struggle for political and cultural liberation in our troubled times
Barcode:15047093
The Metamorphosis, in the Penal Colony and Other Stories by Franz Kafka; Joachim Neugroschel (Editor, Translator)
Call Number: 833.91 KAF
hese translations illuminate one of this century's most controversial writers and have made Kafka's work accessible to a whole new generation. This classic collection of forty-one great short works -- including such timeless pieces of modern fiction as "The Judgment" and "The Stoker" -- now includes two new stories, "First Sorrow" and "The Hunger Artist."
Barcode:15023557
American psycho: a novel by Ellis,Brent Easton
Call Number: 813.54 ELL
American Psycho is a bleak, bitter, black comedy about a world we all recognize but do not wish to face and it takes us on a head-on collision with America's greatest dream and its worst nightmare. 'A serious, clever and shatteringly effective piece of writing ...
Barcode:14352439

Early Modern Literature

Jamie McGregor, Paul Walters, Deborah Seddon

George Herbert and the Seventeenth Century Religious Poets by Mario DiCesare (Editor); George Herbert
ISBN: 0393092542
Publication Date: 1978-09-17
King Richard II by William Shakespeare; Charles R. Forker (Editor)
ISBN: 1903436338
Publication Date: 2002-03-21
King Henry IV by William Shakespeare; A. R. Humphreys (Editor)
ISBN: 9781904271062
Publication Date: 1967-10-12
Henry IV Part 1 by William Shakespeare
King Henry V by Emma Smith (Editor); Jacky Bratton (Contribution by); Julie Hankey (Contribution by); William Shakespeare
ISBN: 0521595118
Publication Date: 2002-06-27
The Faerie Queene by Edmund Spenser; Thomas P. Roche (Editor); C. Patrick O'Donnell (Editor)
ISBN: 0140422072
Publication Date: 1979-01-25
The Faerie Queene was the first epic in English and one of the most influential poems in the language for later poets from Milton to Tennyson.

American Literature- Emily Dickinson

Dirk Klopper, Deborah Seddon, Dan Wylie, Sue Marais

Collected Poems of Emily Dickinson by Emily Dickinson; George Gesner (Introduction by)
ISBN: 0517362422
Publication Date: 1988-11-30
Lives like loaded guns : Emily Dickinson and her family's feuds by Lyndall Gordon
ISBN: 184408454X
The Cambridge Companion to Emily Dickinson by Wendy Martin (Editor)
ISBN: 0521001188
Publication Date: 2002-09-05
Emily Dickinson and Her Culture by Barton Levi St. Armand
ISBN: 0521262674
Publication Date: 1985-02-22
Emily Dickinson and the modern consciousness : a poet of our time by Kenneth Stocks

Paper 4. Global Modernisms

Jamie McGregor, Minesh Dass, Dan Wylie, Sue Marais, Deborah Seddon

A room of one's own / Three Guineas by Virginia Woolf
ISBN: 9780199536603
"But, you may say, we asked you to speak about women and fiction—what has that got to do with a room of one's own? I will try to explain." So begins what is widely regarded as the foundation text of feminist literary criticism, Virginia Woolf's A Room of One's Own. Probably Woolf's most readable and entertaining book, it was based on papers delivered at Newnham and Girton Colleges—the two women's colleges at Cambridge University. Never losing sight of her undergraduate audience, Woolf provides a brief history of women's writing in English, a scathing account of the subtle and not so subtle ways in which women have been discouraged from writing, and a recommendation for how to change matters: "a woman must have money and a room of her own if she is to write fiction." In the process, Woolf takes on women's economic disadvantages, the underfunding of women's education, the discouragement of women from certain kinds of (lucrative) work, the ways in which women are socialized into suspicion of each other, and how women participate in their own systemic oppression. Yet, in spite of these weighty subjects, A Room of One's Own remains throughout funny, light-hearted, engaging for the novice reader while still offering "nuggets" to the worldy-wise. It is, above and beyond all else, a very model of essay writing. This Broadview edition provides a reliable text at a very reasonable price. It contains textual notes but no appendices or introduction.
A passage to India by E.M. Forster
ISBN: 0141183101
A mysterious incident at the Marabar caves, involving Adela Quested, newly arrived from England, and the presumed guilt of charming and mercurial Dr Aziz, are at the centre of Forster's magnificent novel of India during the Raj. Topical now, as in 1924, in its evocation of the dangers and ambiguities of colonialism, as Forster himself said, it is 'about something wider than politics, about the search of the human race for a lasting home, about the universe as embodied in the Indian earth and the Indian sky, about the horror lurking in the Marabar caves ...'
Voss by Patrick White
ISBN: 9780099324713
The novel that put Australian literature on the map is now in a Vintage Classic edition Set in nineteenth-century Australia, Voss is the story of the secret passion between an explorer and a na ve young woman. Although they have met only a few times, Voss and Laura are joined by overwhelming, obsessive feelings for each other. Voss sets out to cross the continent. As hardships, mutiny and betrayal whittle away his power to endure and to lead, his attachment to Laura gradually increases. Laura, waiting in Sydney, moves through the months of separation as if they were a dream and Voss the only reality. From the careful delineation of Victorian society to the sensitive rendering of hidden love to the stark narrative of adventure in the Australian desert, Patrick White's novel is a work of extraordinary power and virtuosity.
The waves by Virginia Woolf
ISBN: 9780199536627
The Waves is an astonishingly beautiful and poetic novel. It begins with six children playing in a garden by the sea and follows their lives as they grow up and experience friendship, love and grief at the death of their beloved friend Percival. Regarded by many as her greatest work, The Waves is also seen as Virginia Woolf's response to the loss of her brother Thoby, who died when he was twenty-six.

The Vintage Classics Virginia Woolf series has been curated by Jeanette Winterson, and the texts used are based on the original Hogarth Press editions published by Leonard and Virginia Woolf.
A question of power by Bessie Head
ISBN: 0435901494
To the lighthouse by Virginia Woolf
ISBN: 9780192805607
To the Lighthouse is a 1927 novel by Virginia Woolf. A landmark of modernism. To the Lighthouse is a 1927 novel by Virginia Woolf. A landmark of high modernism, the novel centres on the Ramsays and their visits to the Isle of Skye in Scotland between 1910 and 1920. Following and extending the tradition of modernist novelists like Marcel Proust and James Joyce, the plot of To the Lighthouse is secondary to its philosophical introspection. The novel includes little dialogue and almost no action; most of it is written as thoughts and observations. The novel recalls childhood emotions and highlights adult relationships. Among the book's many tropes and themes are those of loss, subjectivity, and the problem of perception. In 1998, the Modern Library named To the Lighthouse No. 15 on its list of the 100 best English-language novels of the 20th century. In 2005, the novel was chosen by TIME magazine as one of the one hundred best English-language novels from 1923 to present.
Invisible man by Ralph Ellison
ISBN: 9780141184425
The lives of countless millions are evoked in Ralph Ellison's superb portrait of a generation of black Americans, Invisible Man. This Penguin Modern Classics edition includes an introduction by John F. Callahan, as well as an introduction by the author. Ralph Ellison's blistering and impassioned first novel tells the extraordinary story of a man invisible 'simply because people refuse to see me'. Published in 1952 when American society was in the cusp of immense change, the powerfully depicted adventures of Ellison's invisible man - from his expulsion from a Southern college to a terrifying Harlem race riot - go far beyond the story of one individual. As John Callahan says, 'In an extraordinary imaginative leap, he hit upon a single word for the different yet shared condition of African Americans, Americans, and, for that matter, the human individual in the twentieth century and beyond.' This edition includes Ralph Ellison's introduction to the thirtieth anniversary edition of Invisible Man, a fascinating account of the novel's seven-year gestation. Ralph Waldo Ellison (1914-94), named for the poet Emerson, was born in Oklahoma. At the age of nineteen he won a scholarship to study music at Booker T. Washington's Tuskegee Institute. In 1936 he went to New York, where he met the writers Langston Hughes and Richard Wright; shortly afterwards his stories and articles began to appear in magazines and journals. After the Second World War Ellison was awarded a Rosenwald Fellowship, allowing him to concentrate on the composition of Invisible Man (1952), which won the National Book Award and established Ellison as a major figure in twentieth-century fiction. If you enjoyed Invisible Man, you might like E.L. Doctorow's The Book of Daniel, also available in Penguin Modern Classics.
Ulysses by James Joyce; Jeri Johnson
ISBN: 9780199535675
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
"Ulysses" is one of the most important works of Modernist literature. The novel is approximately 265,000 words in length, uses a lexicon of 30,030 words and is divided into eighteen episodes. "Ulysses" chronicles the passage of Leopold Bloom through Dublin during an ordinary day, 16 June 1904 (the day of Joyce's first date with his future wife, Nora Barnacle). Ulysses is the Latinised name of Odysseus, the hero of Homer's poem Odyssey, and the novel establishes a series of parallels between its characters and events and those of the poem (e.g., the correspondence of Leopold Bloom to Odysseus, Molly Bloom to Penelope, and Stephen Dedalus to Telemachus). Joyce fans worldwide now celebrate 16 June as Bloomsday. Since publication, the book has attracted controversy and scrutiny, ranging from early obscenity trials to protracted textual "Joyce Wars." Ulysses' stream-of-consciousness technique, careful structuring, and experimental prose—full of puns, parodies, and allusions, as well as its rich characterisations and broad humour, made the book a highly regarded novel in the Modernist literature. In 1998, the Modern Library ranked Ulysses first on its list of the 100 best English-language novels of the 20th century.

Paper 6. Imaginings of place in South African literature

Mike Marais, Dirk Klopper, Sam Naidu, Minesh Dass

The Grass Is Singing by Doris Lessing
ISBN: 9780061673740
Publication Date: 2008-09-16
Set in Southern Rhodesia under white rule, Doris Lessing's first novel is at once a riveting chronicle of human disintegration, a beautifully understated social critique, and a brilliant depiction of the quiet horror of one woman's struggleagainst a ruthless fate.

Mary Turner is a self-confident, independent young woman who becomes the depressed, frustrated wife of an ineffectual, unsuccessful farmer. Little by little the ennui of years on the farm works its slow poison. Mary's despair progresses until the fateful arrival of Moses, an enigmatic, virile black servant. Locked in anguish, Mary and Moses—master and slave—are trapped in a web of mounting attraction and repulsion, until their psychic tension explodes with devastating consequences.
The life & times of Michael K by JM Coetzee
ISBN: 9780099479154
In a South Africa torn by civil war, Michael K sets out to take his mother back to her rural home. On the way there she dies, leaving him alone in an anarchic world of brutal roving armies. Imprisoned, Michael is unable to bear confinement and escapes, determined to live with dignity. Life and Times of Michael K goes to the centre of human experience -- the need for an interior, spiritual life, for some connections to the world in which we live, and for purity of vision.
The good doctor by Damon Galgut
ISBN: 1843542013
The Good Doctor is a stylish metaphysical thriller of eerie readability and moral acuity. When Laurence Waters arrives at his rural hospital posting, Frank is instantly suspicious. Laurence is everything Frank is not - young, optimistic and full of new schemes. The two become uneasy friends, while the rest of the staff in the deserted hospital view Laurence with a mixture of awe and mistrust. The town beyond the hospital is also coping with new arrivals, and the return of old faces. The Brigadier - a self-fashioned dictator from apartheid days - is rumoured still to be alive. And down at Mama's place, a group of soldiers have moved in with their malign commandant, a man Frank has met before and is keen to avoid. Laurence wants to help - but in a world where the past is demanding restitution from the present, his ill-starred idealism cannot last.
The Heart of Redness by Zakes Mda
ISBN: 0195714776
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
In the mid-nineteenth century, in the village of Qolorha on the eastern Cape coast, a girl called Nongqawuse brought a message from the ancestors to the amaXhosa people: to slaughter their cattle and destroy their cropts, so that the ancestors would return from the dead, bringing with them new cattle and crops, and drive the white colonists into the sea. People were divided between Believers, who slew their cattle, and Unbelievers, who did not. The prophecies did not come true, and the power of the amaXhosa people was shattered. One hundred and fifty years later, the feud between the Believers and the Unbelievers still festers in Qolorha, as the villagers take opposing sides on every issue. When the village is faced witha plan to build a casino and holiday resort, the feud threatens to erupt into open conflict. Moving betwen the worlds of contemporary characters and their nineteenth-century ancestors, Zakes Mda's new novel is a triumph of imaginative and historical writing, showing how the past continues to live in the present.
October by Zoe Wicomb
ISBN: 9781415207062
"A letter from her brother Jake calls Mercia back to Kliprand, the parched dorp she left for a life in Scotland years ago. Had she not been abandoned by her partner of twenty-four years, Mercia might never have returned to Namaqualand [South Africa] ... In Kliprand, she finds a broken Jake ... But what secrets haunt this family, and what sense is there to make of this thorny place called home? Zoë Wicomb's October is a moving family history and an incisive commentary on what it means to belong."
Selected poems by Douglas Livingstone
ISBN: 086852042X
To Every Birth Its Blood by Mongane Serote
ISBN: 0869752162
Publication Date: 1997-06-01
Burgher's daughter by Nadine Gordimer
ISBN: 0747549796
In this work, Nadine Gordimer unfolds the story of a young woman's slowly evolving identity in the turbulent political environment of present-day South Africa. Her father's death in prison leaves Rosa Burger alone to explore the intricacies of what it actually means to be Burger's daughter.
The one that got away by Zoe Wicomb
ISBN: 9781415200520
Triomf by Marlene van Niekerk
ISBN: 0316852023
This is the story of the four inhabitants of 127 Martha Street in the poor white suburb of Triomf. Living on the ruins of old Sophiatown, the freehold township razed to the ground as a so-called 'black spot', they await with trepidation their country's first democratic elections. It is a date that coincides fatefully with the fortieth birthday of Lambert, the oversexed misfit son of the house. There is also Treppie, master of misrule and family metaphysician; Pop, the angel of peace teetering on the brink of the grave; and Mol, the materfamilias in her eternal housecoat. Pestered on a daily basis by nosy neighbours, National Party canvassers and Jehova's Witnesses, defenceless against the big city towering over them like a vengeful dinosaur, they often resort to quoting to each other the only consolation that they know; we still have each other and a roof over our heads.

TRIOMF relentlessly probes Afrikaner history and politics, revealing the bizarre and tragic effect that apartheid had on exactly the white underclass who were most supposed to benefit. It is also a seriously funny investigation of the human endeavour to make sense of life even under the most abject of circumstances.
The Quiet Violence of Dreams by K. Sello Duiker
ISBN: 0795701209
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
In this daring novel, the author gives a startling account of the inner workings of contemporary South African urban culture.
Double negative by Ivan Vladislavic
ISBN: 9781415201329
"One of the most imaginative minds at work in South African literature today."--Andre Brink

Originally part of a collaborative project with photographer David Goldblatt, "Double Negative" is a subtle triptych that captures the ordinary life of Neville Lister during South Africa's extraordinary revolution. Ivan Vladislavic lays moments side by side like photographs on a table. He lucidly portrays a city and its many lives through reflections on memory, art, and what we should really be seeking.

Ivan Vladislavic is the author of a number of prize-winning fiction and nonfiction books. He currently lives in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Early Modern Literature

A Complete Concordance to the poetical works of Milton. A book digitised by Google from the library of Oxford University.

Library has a number of John Milton e-Books

Strong's Exhaustive Bible Concordance

Treasury of Scripture Knowledge

Nave's Topical Bible Concordance Online

Early English Books Online contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

On Church Notice Board

The youth group will present Shakespeare's 'Hamlet' in the Church basement on Friday at 7pm. The congregation is invited to attend this tragedy

About.Com Shakespeare

Britannica Guide to Shakespeare

The complete works of William Shakespeare

A complete works of William Shakespeare

Life and Times of William Shakespeare

William Shakespeare's poems

William Shakespeare famous quotes and other quotes

Ten things you did not know about William Shakespeare

William Shakespeare. Biography

The Library has 33 Shakespeare DVDs and a number of e-Books

Edmund Spenser. "I wrote her name upon the strand"

The Library has a number of Edmund Spenser e-Books

Modernist Literature

Early American Literature invites work treating Native American traditional expressions, colonial Ibero-American literature from North America, colonial American Francophone writings, Dutch colonial, and German American colonial literature as well as writings in English from British America and the US.

Library has a number of Joseph Conrad e-Books

Library has a number of Virginia Woolf e-Books

American Literature: A Brave new world

The American Slave Narrative and the Victorian Novel. An e-Book which investigates the shaping influence of the American slave narrative on the Victorian novel in the years between the British Abolition Act and the American Emancipation Proclamation.

American Studies Journal. The American Studies Journal is published semiannually. Each issue of the American Studies Journal is devoted to a particular theme in American Studies. Open Access Journal

Emily Dickinson. Famous Quotations

Emily Dickinson Archives. Emily Dickinson’s Ravished Slates is a scholarly exploration of a group of forty late drafts and fragments hitherto known as the “Lord Letters.” At the center and heart of this site (Exhibit 4: Ravished Slates) are digital surrogates of the documents accompanied by my own early (1995) diplomatic transcriptions of them

The Life, Times and Works of Daniel Hawthorne

Ernest Hemingway. Mini Biography

Ernest Hemingway. Library DVDs: The Killers. Snows of Kilamanjaro. To have and to have not

Harriet Jacobs describes what slavery really is

Herman Melville. Documentary

Herman Melville. Moby Dick. The BigRead

Herman Melville. Library DVDs: Moby Dick.

South African Writers in Focus

Apartheid and Beyond: South African Writers and Politics of Place. An e-Book which contributes to the study of South African literature, offering readings of writers such as Coetzee, Gordimer, Fugard, Tlali, and Mda. Focusing on the relationship between place, subjectivity, and literary form, the study examines our understanding of apartheid as a geographical form of control, and of its imagined and actual transformation.

Award winning Achmat Dangor. The Library has a number of his books in our collection

Imaginings of Place in Modern Southern African Writings

JM Coetzee and Paul Auster in New York at the NYS Writers Institute. Reading their letters

JM Coetzee give opening provocation at Worlds Literature Festival

Damon Galgut. Interview: The Imposter

Watch the Anne Landsman talk about her novel The Rowing Lesson

Doris Lessing. Interview: Nobel Prize in Literature 2007

Writer and documentary maker Eric Miyeni speaks at the 2011 Wits Finwrite seminar.

Mongane Serote. e-Book To every birth it's blood

Toni Morrison and Marlene van Niekerk in Conversation

Ingrid Winterbach on visual art at the launch of her novel, The Book of Happenstance

John Milton: Paradise Lost

A Complete Concordance to the poetical works of Milton. A book digitised by Google from the library of Oxford University.

Library has a number of John Milton e-Books

Project Gutenberg free e-Book

Quotes from Paradise Lost

Romantic Literature

The Library has a number of William Blake e-Books

The Library has a number of Lord George Gordon Byron e-Books

The Library has a number of Samuel Coleridge e-Books

Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net (RAVON). An International e-Journal devoted to British Nineteenth-Century Literature

The Library has a number of Percy Shelley e-Books

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Open Access e-Books and journals. AudioBooks

LibriVox. LibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain and release the audio files back onto the net. Our goal is to make all public domain books available as free audio books.

Our Favourite Books. This site holds some of the best classic books written by some of the best classic authors. All the books available for download or to read online are free. Help yourselves.

Project Gutenberg. Project Gutenberg offers over 40,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. All e-books were previously published by bona fide publishers. Project Gutenberg digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers.

English: English Honours

Africa in the World by Dr Thando Njovane 2019

Early Modern Literature

American Literature- Emily Dickinson

Paper 4. Global Modernisms

Paper 6. Imaginings of place in South African literature

Early Modern Literature

Modernist Literature

American Literature: A Brave new world

South African Writers in Focus

Imaginings of Place in Modern Southern African Writings

John Milton: Paradise Lost

Romantic Literature

Open Access e-Books and journals. AudioBooks

Mark Twain