LibGuides: English: Databases & e-resources

Online journal search

Databases in alphabetical order

Access Global NewsBank 2022

Access Global Newsbank is designed to deliver broad and varied perspectives from sources across the globe. This resource supports research across a wide range of subject areas. It is the most comprehensive collection of its kind, with more than 7,200 global news sources covering over 200 countries and territories. Access Global NewsBank includes over 200 South African Titles, plus full-color image editions of Business Day, Financial Mail, Sowetan, Sunday Times.

https://0-infoweb.newsbank.com.wam.seals.ac.za/apps/news/easy-search?p=AWGLNB

African Writers Series
For over 40 years, Heinemann's African Writers Series published the key texts of modern African literature. It has a unique importance in the history of postcolonial writing.This online edition includes over 250 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek and Tayeb Salih.
Aluka
International, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa
EBSCOhost Research Databases
Multidisciplinary content.
EBSCOhost® is the world's most-used reference resource. It is a customizable, intuitive search experience designed to cater to user needs and preferences at every level of research, with many full text and secondary databases available.

G ale Literary Sources

An integrated research experience, Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.

GoogleScholar
Multidisciplinary content. The academic content of Google. Use in conjuction with Scopus and Web of Science
Web of Science
Subscription-based access to multiple databases that provide comprehensive citation data for many different academic disciplines. It was originally produced by the Institute for Scientific Information and is currently maintained by Clarivate Analytics.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED:
Arts & Humanities Citation Index:1975+
Social Sciences Citation Index:1975+
Science Citation Index Expanded:-1975+
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary content. Archived to first issues. Current issues embargoed.
Oxford English Dictionary
600,000 words … 3.5 million quotations … over 1000 years of English
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Proquest-E-book Central Academic Complete
Academic Complete is a highly interactive eBook database from ebrary that covers all academic subject areas, including reference works from leading academic publishers. Ebrary's Info tools is a cross referencing tool that allows selected text within a book to be linked to external online resources such as dictionaries, maps and search engines.
SABINET
African journal content, news research services and South African legal information - one of the most reliable specialist information providers in Africa.: journal articles, news clippings, government publications, SA theses.

Subscribed journals

Off-campus users (staff and students) should note that they will be prompted for a staff/student barcode and PIN in order to access the library resources.

If you do not have access please register here for your "My Library account" - note that you must select your own PIN & that you must be registered for the current year as a Library user

Accounting This link opens in a new window
Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Biochemistry, Microbioloy & Biotechnology This link opens in a new window
Botany This link opens in a new window
Business School This link opens in a new window
Chemistry This link opens in a new window
Classical Studies This link opens in a new window
Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Creating Writing This link opens in a new window
Drama This link opens in a new window
Economics This link opens in a new window
Education This link opens in a new window
Education (Higher) This link opens in a new window
English This link opens in a new window
English Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Environmental Science This link opens in a new window
Fine Art This link opens in a new window
Geography This link opens in a new window
Geology This link opens in a new window
History This link opens in a new window
Human Kinetics & Ergonomics This link opens in a new window
Ichthology & Fisheries Science This link opens in a new window
Information Systems This link opens in a new window
Journalism & Media Studies This link opens in a new window
Law This link opens in a new window
Management This link opens in a new window
Mathematics (Pure & Applied) This link opens in a new window
Music & Musicology This link opens in a new window
Pharmacy This link opens in a new window
Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Physics & Electronics This link opens in a new window
Political & International Studies This link opens in a new window
Psychology This link opens in a new window
School of Languages This link opens in a new window
Sociology This link opens in a new window
Statistics This link opens in a new window
Water Research This link opens in a new window
Zoology & Entomology This link opens in a new window

NewsPaper and Magazine Online

PressReader
Connecting people to news.
Provides unlimited access to 6,000+ newspapers and magazines from around the world.Register for a free account on PressReader. Doing so will give you the full functionality of the platform (email alerts, complete personalization of the platform and everything synchronized across all devices with the same username and password)

English: Databases & e-resources

Browse by subject

Online journal search

Databases in alphabetical order

Subscribed journals

NewsPaper and Magazine Online