Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases & e-resources: A-I
Academic Search Premier via EBSCOhost
Academic Search™ Premier contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier contains unmatched full text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc.
Africa South of the Sahara 2011
A definitive guide to all sub-Saharan African countries, providing invaluable economic, political, statistical and directory data.
African Journals Online
Selected Open Access titles: African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals. African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is an online service to provide access to African-published research, and increase worldwide knowledge of indigenous scholarship. AJOL is a Non Profit Organisation based in South Africa. AJOL's system consists of a bibliographic database as well as digitized full text.
International, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa
100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public, including: current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications
Multidisciplinary content. The academic content of Google. Use in conjuction with Scopus and Web of Science
Web of Science
Arts & Humanities Citation Index:1975+
Social Sciences Citation Index:1975+
Science Citation Index Expanded:-1975+
Databases & e-resources: J-W
Multidisciplinary content. Archived to first issues. Current issues embargoed.
NEWSBANK: Access World News
Explore news articles from 1972 - Current.
A fully searchable online resource, Access World News features most major U.S. news sources circulation, plus many hard-to-find local and regional titles that are unavailable elsewhere. Additionally, Access World News offers more than 9,000 U.S. and international news sources from over 140 countries on six continents.
Oxford English Dictionary
covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean.
Oxford Reference Online Premium
Fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date &cross-searchable dictionary, language reference & subject reference works published by OUP, Detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the Oxford Companions series
Oxford Scholarship Online
Full-text access to academic OUP monographs from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences & science.
SA information: journal articles, news clipping, government publications, SA theses information
Leading full-text database offering journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals
Highly recommended: Multidisciplinary journal articles
Databases by topic
Struggles for freedom: Southern Africa
Experience the phenomenal independence movements of southern African nations through this digitized collection of thousands of documents and other primary sources.
World heritage sites
Explore the archaeology, history and culture of Africa
through its heritage sites and landscapes.
Current research topics covering key global issues, and people about business, economics, crime, politics, science, health, sports, the arts and more.
Historical Newspapers from Africa
Explore African History and Culture during the 19th and 20th Centuries