Skip to Main Content

Article Processing Charges (APCs): Association of Computer Machinery (ACM)

A guide to assist with the understanding of how Article Processing Charges (APCs) advance Open Access Publishing. The guide also covers Transformative Agreements with certain publishers

Transformative Agreements @Rhodes

The South African National Library and Information Consortium (SANLiC) has negotiated a Transformative Agreements with the Publisher. 

Click here:

1. For more information about the terms of the Transformative Agreement

2. To view the list the journal titles of the Journals that fall within this Transformative Agreement

The allocated free Article Processing Charges (APCs) and Tokens for this Transformative Agreement are managed by the Research Office.

Contact the Research Office for your APC and Token queries

Read more: RUL Scholarly Communication: Transformative agreements

 

Association for Computer Machinery (ACM)

ACM, the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession. 

ACM provides the computing field's premier Digital Library and serves its members and the computing profession with leading-edge publications, conferences, and career resources.

ACM OPEN

The ACM Digital Library is a research, discovery and networking platform containing:

  • The Full-Text Collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.

  • A collection of curated and hosted full-text publications from select publishers.

  • The ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing.

  • A richly interlinked set of connections among authors, works, institutions, and specialized communities.

  • The ACM Digital Library Board, oversees the design, operations and direction of the ACM Digital Library and supporting technology platforms.

For publishing information on a specific ACM published paper for a legal case, please submit your request to the Director of Publications at publication-policies@hq.acm.org

ACM @ Rhodes University. Transformative Agreement @Rhodes: 2021 to 2023

In terms of our paid subscriptions, we are seeing a move away by Publishers from the traditional subscriptions to help tip the balance towards Open Access.

 

Our ACM (Association of Computer Machinery) Digital Library subscription (ACM Open) : 

 

ACM plans to achieve FULL OPEN ACCESS within the next 5 years. Rhodes is now an ACM Open participant.  Please see the details below and attached, of how ACM will set up Rhodes as an ACM Participant. The intent of this SANLiC agreement as per the license:

 

" By entering into this Agreement, the University and ACM seek to pilot a new type of agreement intended to facilitate a transition to open access publishing and transform the way that research is published, disseminated, and accessed. Specifically, through this Agreement, the parties will cooperate in piloting a new type of agreement which will facilitate open access publishing for Affiliated Corresponding Authors by allowing them to publish accepted Eligible Articles in ACMs peer-reviewed scholarly publications on an Open Access basis with no fee charged to them while also offering them the option to retain copyright in their work. Additionally, this Agreement aims to contribute to the advancement of open access publishing by aspiring to lead ACM to transition their entire portfolio of peer-reviewed scholarly publications to a fully open access model on a going forward basis. "

 

ACM for Rhodes University authors

  1. A customized email is sent to the Rhodes University corresponding author of an APC-eligible manuscript in each of these instances:

·         Acceptance to an ACM journal or magazine

·         Acceptance to an ACM conference

  1. The author is informed via this email that Rhodes University has an agreement with ACM under which they can make their article available Open Access at no additional cost and links them to the rights offerings that ACM offers on a form we call the eRights form.
  2. On the eRights form the author is asked to specify which rights they wish to grant to ACM. While we make the ACM Open option for OA and permission release most prominent, we also allow authors to choose from the same rights transfers as all ACM authors.
  3. If the corresponding author selects the permission release, they will be prompted to select their choice of Creative Commons (CC) license.
  4. After selecting their CC license, the author will be taken to the second page of the eRights form which is similar to what you may find from other publishers, asking authors about permissions, third-party material, warranties on originality, and funding.
  5. Following form submission, the author’s choices are logged with ACM and they are sent a confirmation email with their rights choices