LibGuides: Academic Publishing: Open Access Resources

Open Access Journals

BioMedCentral (BMC)
A commercial publisher which produces about 200 open access journals, over 20 of which are ranked for impact factor by ISI's Journal Citation Reports.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a database of over 4000 peer-reviewed, open access journals from around the world. Over 1000 of these journals can be searched at the article level from the DOAJ search box.

JURN
JURN searches hundreds of free scholarly ejournals in the arts & humanities

PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window
"The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature."
PLoS (Public Library of Science) This link opens in a new window
PLoS, a non-profit organization founded by a group of biomedical scientists, currently publishes seven open access biomedical journals, six of which are ranked for impact factor by ISI's Journal Citation Reports.

Australasian Open Access Strategy Group (AOASG)

The Australasian Open Access Strategy Group (AOASG) advocates to make Australasian research Open and FAIR.

The AOASG supports the Open Knowledge foundation definition of “Open”, i.e. that anyone can freely access, use, modify, and share content for any purpose. We also support the right of authors to retain their copyright and to be attributed for their work. We also recognize the need for research outputs to be FAIR and contributed to the development of the F.A.I.R. Statement in 2016.

1,500 Free Online Courses from Top Universities

Get 1,500 free online courses from the world's leading universities -- Stanford, Yale, MIT, Harvard, Berkeley, Oxford and more. You can download these audio & video courses (often from iTunes, YouTube, or university web sites) straight to your computer or mp3 player. Over 45,000 hours of free audio & video lectures, await you now.

Free Courses, Great Lectures & Great Recordings

Visit the Open Culture website Today!!

The Wellcome Trust

The overarching aim of our open access (OA) policy is to make sure that knowledge and discoveries resulting from our funding are shared and used in a way that maximises their benefit to health.

Providing free, online access to published research will:

maximise the availability and usability of publications
make sure the research we fund can be built upon.

Our OA policy for journal articles is in line with the key principles of Plan S. Wellcome is a member of cOAlition S and is committed to working in partnership with other funders to make all research articles OA.

Our policy for monographs and book chapters remains unchanged.

Both of these policies apply to publications that include original research that is funded in whole, or in part, by Wellcome.

OAIster

OAIster is a catalogue of millions of records that represent open access resources. It scans the internet to find freely available items that conform to the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). OAIster can harvest key bibliographic information from these freely available resources and then use this information to point you towards the resources.

Search OAIster

What will you find on OAIster?

Theses
Journal articles
Preprints
Book chapters
Conference proceedings

Where does OAIster find these items?

OAIster captures information from institutional repositories and from open access journals.

Take note: Some items are peer-reviewed, while others are not.

Open Access Directory

Open Access Directory (OAD) wiki This link opens in a new window
Links and lists on a variety of topics and issues related to open access.

Relevant Open Source Software

Open source software is available to provide online platforms for repositories, ejournals and conferences. Here are a few examples:

EPrints software This link opens in a new window
Dveloped at the University of Southampton, EPrints currently provides the repository software for over 250 repositories worldwide.

Public Knowledge Project (PKP)
PKP is a multi-university initiative developing (free) open source software and conducting research to improve the quality and reach of scholarly publishing
Open Journal Systems (OJS)
Developed by the Public Knowledge Project (PKP) at the University of British Columbia, OJS is a journal management and publishing system used by over 2000 publications, many of which are open access journals.
Open Conference Systems (OCS)
Also developed by PKP, OCS is "a free Web publishing tool that will create a complete Web presence for your scholarly conference".

Open Education Resources (OER)

Open educational resources (OER)

are teaching, learning, and research resources

that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property

license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others.

Source: https://www.oercommons.org/static/staticpages/documents/FAQ-OER-K-12.pdf

Explore the Open Education Resources (OER), including lectures, activities and labs, readings and syllabi, available on the OER Commons.

Examples of other Open Education Resources (OER) include:

OpenCourseWare Consortium This link opens in a new window
"...a collaboration of more than 200 higher education institutions and associated organizations from around the world creating a broad and deep body of open educational content..."

MIT Open Courseware (OCW)
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.

Merlot: Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching This link opens in a new window
"...searchable collection of peer reviewed and selected higher education, online learning materials..."

Open Culture
A Master List of 1,500 Free Courses From Top Universities: 50,000 Hours of Audio/Video Lectures to Enrich Your Mind

Academic Publishing: Open Access Resources

For more information