A Database is a web based filing system designed to store information. The Databases collect, organize and index information from journals, books, theses and dissertations, magazines, newspapers.
How to search for journal articles on the online databases
Make use of the databases to search for journal articles on your essay topic. Select keywords that best describe your topic and type them in the search boxes of the database selected. The databases will return a list of journal articles and other materials that you are able to download/print and use for your essay/assignment.
Below are just some of the Databases available - the Subject Guides all have a selection of databases relevant to a particular academic subject offered at Rhodes
For over 40 years, Heinemann's African Writers Series published the key texts of modern African Literature. It has a unique importance in the history of postcolonial writing. The online edition contains over 250 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadime Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambuszo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek, Tayeb Salih.
PressReader: provides unlimited access to 6,000+ newspapers and magazines from SA and around the world.
Multidisciplinary content
Search required databases on EBSCO
Multidisciplinary content - archived to first issues - current issues embargoed
Multidisciplinary content. The academic content of Google.
Leading full-text database offering journal articles from more than 2500 peer reviewed journals.
South African information: Journal Articles, news clippings, government publications, SA Theses
