Management: Management 101 2025

Starting your Search

Before you begin searching for information, you should thoroughly understand the topic you are researching. Dictionaries and encyclopaedias are a good place to begin. Dictionaries provide definitions of unfamiliar terms, whilst encyclopaedias give more detailed explanations and overviews of topics.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias are available in both print (Level 3 Commerce Reference Collection) and online – please see the Management Subject Guide to learn more or ask your librarian!

Continuing Your Search

1. Identify Search Terms

The first step in searching for information for your topic is identifying keywords/search terms. Library databases require you to enter keywords into the search box because entering an entire essay topic/question will not be as effective and may likely return poor or even no results at all. The keywords/search terms you use are critical in determining the relevance of the results that you will retrieve. Below are some examples:

"learning styles"

"cognitive styles"

"individual differences"

2.  Creating a Search Statement 

To retrieve the most relevant search results, you will need to construct a search statement.

A search statement is a combination of the keywords/search terms that you enter into the search box of a database. You use Connecting Words to link the keywords/search terms. Connecting Words are AND, OR and NOT. 

Connecting keywords/search terms & using phrases to improve your search:

1. AND:  (e.g. "learning style" AND "individual differences") retrieves only results containing both terms.
2. OR: Searches for similar words and related terms. Note: the keywords must be in brackets. E.g.: (learning OR cognitive) AND strategies
3. Phrases: should be in quotation marks (e.g. “social responsibility of business” retrieves the phrase social responsibility of business)
4. Combining Phrases:  (e.g. "social entrepreneurship" AND "South Africa" ) will retrieve articles which contain both phrases.

Use * to replace a letter or shorten a word to retrieve all versions of the word.

• Eg. Wom*n = woman and women
• Organi*ation = organisation and organization (SA/British or American spelling)
• leader* = leader, leaders and leadership

Search statement examples:

(learning OR cognitive) AND style*

"learning style" AND "individual differences"

"cognitive styles" AND learning And "individual differences"

3. Using Search Statements

These Search Statements can be used to find appropriate textbook sources and articles on Search All as well as on relevant library databases and websites.

Ukuqala ukukhangela kwakho

Phambi kokuba uqale ukukhangela ulwazi, kufuneka uqonde kakuhle isihloko osiphandayo.
Iidikshinari kunye ne-encyclopedia zindawo ezilungileyo onokuqala kuzo. Iidikshinari zinika iintsingiselo zamagama ongawaziyo, ngelixa i-encyclopedia zinika iinkcazelo ezibanzi kunye nezinzulu ngezihloko.

Iidikshinari kunye nee-Encyclopedia zifumaneka kuzo zombini eziprintiweyo (kwinqanaba le-3 Commerce Reference Collection) nakwi-intanethi – nceda ujonge Isikhokelo seSifundo soLawulo ukuze ufunde ngakumbi okanye ubuze umphathi weThala leencwadi!

Ukuqhubekeka nokukhangela kwakho ulwazi

1. Chonga amagama aphambili

Inyathelo lokuqala ekukhangeleni ulwazi ngesihloko sakho kukuqonda amagama aphambili/amagama okuphanda. Iindawo zokugcina ulwazi (library databases) zifuna ukuba ufake amagama aphambili kwibhokisi yokukhangela kuba ukufaka yonke imibuzo yesihloko okanye umbuzo omnye omde akuyi kuba nefuthe, kunokukhokelela kwiziphumo ezingalunganga okanye kungabikho ziphumo. Amagama aphambili owasebenzisayo abalulekile ekuqinisekiseni ubaluleko lweziphumo oza kuzifumana. Ngezantsi yeminye imizekelo: 

"learning styles"

"cognitive styles"

"individual differences" 

2.  Ukwenza ingxelo yokukhangela

Ukuze ufumane ezona ziphumo zibalulekileyo zokukhangela, kuya kufuneka wenze ingxelo yokukhangela.

Ingxelo yokukhangela yindibaniselwano yamagama aphambili / amagama okukhangela owabhala kwibhokisi yokukhangela ulwazi.  Usebenzisa amagama okudibanisa ukuze kuthungelane amagama aphambili / amagama okukhangela.  Amagama okudibanisa ngala; kunye, okanye, hayi.

Ukusebenzisa amagama okudibanisa/aphambili ukuze uphucule ukukhangela kwakho ulwazi:

1. KUNYE: (umz.,"learning style" Kunye "individual differences") ukhupha iziphumo eziqulethe omabini la magama.
2. OKANYE: Ukhangelo lwamagama afanayo nayeleleneyo. Qaphela: amagama aphambili kufuneka abe kwizibiyeli. Umz.,. (learning Okanye cognitive ) KUNYE strategies
3. Amabinzana: kufuneka abe kwimpawu zocaphulo (umz. “social responsibility of business” ikhupha ibinzana le social responsibility of business)
4. Ukudibanisa amabinzana: (umz. "Social entrepreneurship" KUNYE "South Africa”) iya kukhupha amaphepha aqulethe omabini la mabinzana.

Sebenzisa iphawu * ukuze uthathe indawo yonobumba okanye ukunciphisa igama ukuze ufumane zonke iinguqulelo zelo gama.

• Umz. Wom*n = woman and women
• Organi*ation = organisation and organization (SA/British or American spelling)
• leader* = leader, leaders and leadership

imizekelo yokukhangela ingxelo: 

(learning OKANYE cognitive) KUNYE style* 

"learning style" KUNYE "individual differences"

"cognitive styles" KUNYE learning KUNYE "individual differences" 

3. Ukusebenzisa iingxelo zokukhangela ulwazi

Ezi ngxelo zokukhangela zinokusetyenziselwa ukufumana imithombo yeencwadi kunye namanqaku apha Search All nakwi library databases kunye newebsites.