To solve challenges, you need answers. But finding those answers may be as difficult as the questions being asked. That is where the search comes in – and not all search is created equal. How you search, and with what tools, can make the difference between solving your problem and creating a new one.
Please feel free to contact the your Faculty Librarian, Sue Rionda, if you need more help.
Selecting a Topic
The library provides access to information on past and current research projects. By looking at these projects, you can gain a better idea of what you should write on. Go to Find books, e-books & theses for Rhodes University theses, theses from other South African universities as well as theses from around the world in ProQuest Theses and Dissertations Global.
When looking for literature, Search All is a good place to start. Search All provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles and digital media held by Rhodes University Library.
You can also look for journal articles. Click here to see a list of recommended databases that you can use to find journal articles.
If you find an interesting article or book that Rhodes University Library does not have, you can request it through Inter-Library Loans.
Finding Data
Rhodes University Library subscribes to a number of databases that offer data. Click here to see the recommended list.
Citation Databases
When searching for literature, it is important to use citation databases such as Scopus and Web of Science to give you an overview of your subject area. Citation databases provide a record of what has been published and citations between publications. However, it is important to note that no citation database covers all publications.
With citation databases you are able to:
| Simplify Research with IMF eLibrary IMF eLibrary has been updated to improve access to content and personalization features. With 23,000+ full-text publications available free to search and download, statistical datasets to leverage, and customization to bookmark favorites and set alerts, make sure every research inquiry start at the IMF eLibrary. This is global economics at your fingertips. Start today and register as a new user for free. |
Transformative Agreements | Open Access publishing
In academic publishing, transformative agreements are contracts between academic institutions and publishers that aim to transition the traditional subscription-based model to more sustainable and open-access publishing models, ensuring broader access to scholarly
research while maintaining the viability of academic publishing.
The South African National Library and Information Consortium (SANLiC) negotiates the Transformative Agreements for Southern African academic Libraries with publishers. Their aim is to facilitate affordable access to scholarly electronic information in support of the teaching,
learning and research activities of its members.
For more information on the read and publish agreements negotiated by SANLiC (including the names of the participating institutions) please access the following link: https://sanlic.ac.za/read-and-publish-agreements/.
The above website also provides a description of the agreements, the length of the agreements and a list of Journal Titles within the agreements.
For more information on Academic Publishing, please see the Scholarly Communications Guide
For more information on publishing in Accredited Journals and avoiding Predatory Publishers, please see the following:
************************************************
Watch Cover to Cover: Profiling Predatory Publishing - a webinar sponsored by Cabells
In an effort to foster a sense of belonging and equip students with essential research skills, Rhodes University's Department of Economics recently organised a three-day orientation and research workshop for new Masters and PhD students.
Attended by a total of 25 first year Masters and PhD students, orientation sessions were considered a success by Professor Meshach Aziakpono, the Department of Economics Postgraduate Coordinator, who led the initiative.
The primary objective of the three days was to provide students with the necessary tools and knowledge to conduct advanced research in the fields of applied economics and finance. The workshop was important in helping students develop high-quality research proposals for their thesis projects. Through a series of interactive sessions, various aspects of research design, quantitative data gathering, and analytical techniques were covered.
Professor Jen Snowball, the Head of the Department of Economics, was also part of the workshop, highlighting the significance of ethical principles, considering it a crucial step in the research process. While the workshop provided insights into theoretical principles behind research methods, it also stressed the practical application of these methods in developing a research approach tailored to specific questions.
A second workshop, scheduled for July 24th to 26th, will delve deeper into literature review, data sourcing, and analytical techniques. Professor Snowball outlined that this workshop would prepare students to present their research proposals to the Commerce Higher Degrees Committee for evaluation and approval. The overarching goal is to guide students in determining and identifying research questions, suitable research methods and data sources, and choosing analytical methods relevant to their research topics.
According to the students' evaluation feedback, it was overwhelmingly positive, with many expressing excitement and gratitude for the opportunity to learn and engage in meaningful discussions. The workshops also offer an opportunity for Masters and PhD students to meet others in their group and for students new to Rhodes University to see the campus and meet their supervisors in person. However, some students suggested extending the orientation period to a week, citing the vast information covered in the three-day workshop.
Recognising the dynamic nature of academia and the evolving needs of incoming students, Professor Aziakpono further expressed his commitment to continually revising and enhancing the programme to meet these demands. He emphasised that the recent workshop was just the beginning of a series of initiatives aimed at equipping students with the skills and knowledge necessary for success in their academic pursuits.
Furthermore, Professor Snowball underscored the importance of the resources and support services offered by Rhodes University students through the Centre of Postgraduate Studies (CPGS). In her opinion, “Access to extensive library resources and student-friendly websites is pivotal in facilitating research and academic growth.”
She emphasised the significance of leveraging these resources to enhance the learning experience and broaden students' understanding of their respective fields.
With access to comprehensive libraries and online databases, students are equipped with the tools to conduct in-depth research and stay abreast of the latest developments in applied economics and finance. Additionally, it highlights the value of academic supervisors who provide guidance and mentorship to students throughout their academic journey.
Professor Aziakpono expressed optimism that the workshop's success would inspire other departments to adopt similar initiatives, enhancing research practices university-wide. By equipping students with solid research skills early in their academic journey, Rhodes University aims to nurture a culture of excellence and innovation in scholarly endeavours.
The orientation and research workshop organised by the Department of Economics at Rhodes University marked a significant step in empowering first year Masters and PhD students with essential research skills.
By staying attuned to the changing needs of students and the academic community, Professor Aziakpono, along with his colleagues, aims to ensure that the orientation programme remains relevant and impactful for future generations of students.
By Lalelisile Mncwabe 30 April 2024
