The fourth edition of this leading dictionary (previously A Dictionary of Earth Sciences) contains over 7,500 clear and concise entries on all aspects of geology and earth sciences, including planetary science, volcanology, palaeontology, and mineralogy.
The third edition of this leading dictionary offers wide-ranging and authoritative coverage of the earth sciences and related topics, including geology, oceanography, paleontology, minerology, volcanology, and planetary science as well as climatology, geochemistry, and petrology.
The Oxford Companion to the Earth is a unique reference work, offering unrivalled coverage of the Earth Sciences, from volcanoes to flood plains, diamonds to meteors, deserts to deep seas. All aspects of geology, including climatology, mineralogy, and oceanography, are covered.
‘Clear, thorough, and meticulously researched. An invaluable resource for our changing world.’ - Elizabeth Kolbert, author, Field Notes from a Catastrophe The Oxford Companion to Global Change is an up-to-date, comprehensive, interdisciplinary guide to the range of issues surrounding natural and human-induced changes in the Earth's environment.
Search All
Search the catalogue, articles, journals, books, media and more
This new edition retains the inspiring tradition of bringing together the world's most influential economists writing in their own voice on their areas of expertise, but in its online incarnation it has married this tradition with the benefits of a dynamic, updated resource serving the information needs of a new generation of economists.
No other reference work exists in the area of Geomorphology that offers the breadth and depth of information contained in this 14-volume masterpiece. From the foundations and history of geomorphology through to geomorphological innovations and computer modelling, and the past and future states of landform science, no "stone" has been left unturned!
he science of geology is going through a remarkable period of expansion and advancement. The New Penguin Dictionary of Geology contains over 7,500 fully updated definitions, making it the most extensive dictionary of the Earth sciences ever produced. It includes a full bibliography of up-to-date works covering all areas of geology. Authoritative and accessible, this new edition will prove invaluable to researcher, student, and amateur geologist.
Science professionals, writers, and students everywhere will want to have this exhaustive guide to the terms and expressions used in modern geology and mineralogy. The dictionary contains 7,000 terms, covering physical geology, historical geology, plate tectonics, petrology, stratigraphy, and more-each with definition identified by the field in which it is primarily used
This Encyclopedia comprises the current knowledge in marine geosciences whereby not only basic but also applied and technical sciences are covered. Through this concept a broad scale of users in the field of marine sciences and techniques is addressed, from students and scholars in academia to engineers and decision makers in industry and politics.
Dictionary of Geology by 
Dictionary of Geology and Mineralogy by 
Marine Geology and Geophysics by 