Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Rhodes Library Catalogue (OPAC)
Search for books, journals and other materials held by the RU Library
Online reference sources
Encyclopedia of Anthropology This link opens in a new window
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
Disciplines: Anthropology, Demography, Economics, Education, History, Linguistics. Philosophy, Political science, Clinical psychology and applied psychology, Cognitive psychology and cognitive science, Developmental psychology, social psychology, personality psychology and motivational psychology, Sociology
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
core collection of titles includes a broad selection of over 100 dictionary and reference titles across the subject spectrum
Printed reference books
A dictionary for the modern flutist This link opens in a new window
A Dictionary for the Modern Flutist presents clear and concise definitions of more than 1,500 common flute-related terms that a player of the Boehm-system flute may encounter. Fully illustrated with more than 100 images, the entries contain descriptions of words related to all aspects of the flute: flute types, flute parts, flute repair, playing techniques, acoustics, articulations, intonation, common ornaments, flutemaking, flute history, flute music books, and more.