Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-campus users (staff and students) should note that they will be prompted for a staff/student barcode and PIN in order to access the library resources.
If you do not have access please register here for your "My Library account" - note that you must select your own PIN & that you must be registered for the current year as a Library user
SA Media via Sabinet
SA Media is now comprised of the original SA Media archive from 1977 to December 2014 and the new SA Media database, consisting of 37 publications which include Business Day, Financial Mail, Mail & Guardian & the Sunday Times. Because of copyright issues, there is a delay between the Newspaper publication dates and the date on which the articles from these Newspapers are loaded into SA Media. Please click on the Index menu to check when a publication was last updated in SA Media.
Accounting & Finance, Business, Economics, HR & Organizational Behaviour, Information Systems & Knowledge Management, Library & Information Science, Management Science & Operations, Marketing, Strategy, Tourism & Hospitality & more.
Multidisciplinary content. The academic content of Google. Use in conjuction with Scopus and ISI Web of Science
Oxford Scholarship Online
Full-text access to academic OUP monographs from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences & science.
Leading full-text database offering journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals
IRESS SA, previously known as INET BFA
IRESS is the pre-eminent provider of stock market, fundamental research data and news to the Financial sector and the corporate market at large.
This resource is accessible on-campus without the use of third-party applications. In order to access IRESS from off-campus, please ensure that you have VPN installed and configured on your computer. For information on configuring Rhodes VPN, please see the student networking manuals as made available by I&TS. For Windows10 the following is required: https://www.ru.ac.za/studentnetworking/config/moreusefulguides/vpnforwindows10/
To access the IRESS Expert section, please contact the Commerce Library Faculty Liaison Services on Level 3 (Tel: 046 6038062 or 046 6037339) Please Note: LOG OUT AFTER YOUR SESSION ON EXPERT, IN ORDER TO ALLOW OTHER USERS TO LOGIN.
REFINITIV / EIKON (formerly known as THOMSON REUTERS DATASTREAM)
Eikon is a set of software products provided by Refinitiv for financial professionals to monitor and analyze financial information. It provides access to real time market data, news, fundamental data, analytics, trading and messaging tools.
.ACCESS IS ON CAMPUS ONLY, DURING OFFICE HOURS, AND ONLY AT DEDICATED COMPUTER WORKSTATIONS IN THE RHODES UNIVERSITY LIBRARY. CONTACT THE COMMERCE LIBRARIANS ON LEVEL 3 (Tel: 046 6038062 or 046 6037339) FOR ACCESS, AND TO BOOK A COMPUTER.
Journals by publisher
Rhodes users have access to collections of journals from these publishers.
We recommend that, instead of searching individual publisher databases, that you search across publishers using the databases (in particular, Ebscohost, Scopus, ScienceDirect, & Web of Science) listed above
African Human Rights Law Journal
The African Human Rights Law Journal publishes peer-reviewed contributions dealing with human rights related topics of relevance to Africa, Africans and scholars of Africa. The Journal appears twice a year, in March and October.
The Journal appears on the list of accredited journals of the South African Department of Education and is included in the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBBS).
As democratic practices and the protection of human rights struggle to become rooted in Africa, and an African Court of Human and Peoples' Rights is in the process of being established, the African Human Rights Law Journal has been launched. There is a more pressing need for a monitoring and reporting periodical in this field in Africa than ever before.
The Journal aims to publish contributions dealing with human rights related topics of relevance to Africa, Africans and scholars of Africa. In the process,
Constitutional Court Review-Free Online Download
The Constitutional Court Review is an annual double-blind, peer-reviewed international journal of record that tracks the work of the Constitutional Court of South Africa.
All volumes of the Constitutional Court Review can be read for free on an open access, dedicated website at www.constitutionalcourtreview.co.za. Print versions of Volume V, VI (and all forthcoming issues) can be purchased directly from Juta Law at www.jutalaw.co.za/products/constitutional-court-review.
Constitutional Law of South Africa=CLoSA
This 4-volume, 76-chapter work covers every dimension of court practice, institutional constitutional law and all of the procedural and substantive provisions of the Bill of Rights. Written by local and international constitutional law experts, Constitutional Law of South Africa takes the reader beyond the black-letter law by offering complete reconstructions of legal doctrine, alternative readings of constitutional provisions, and practical criticism of judgments and legislation. As a result, CLOSA is the most widely cited work on South African constitutional law.
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 178 million pages and 270,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,700 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
South African Law Reports user license updated to 20 concurrent users March - Sept 2020. AVAILABLE ON CAMPUS AND OFF CAMPUS.
18 Sept 2020: If you experience a problem accessing LexisNexis, please email Jill Otto at firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.
AVAILABLE ON CAMPUS AND OFF CAMPUS.
NetLaw via Sabinet Legal
NetLaw includes all updated and consolidated South African principle Acts, rules and regulations as from 1910 to date.
Parliamentary Bills via Sabinet Legal
Immediate access to the full text of South African Government and Provincial Gazettes and Parliamentary Bills with daily Government Gazette alerts. Government Gazettes are available from January 1994, Provincial Gazettes from September 1995 and Parliamentary Bills from January 1999.
South African Legal Information.
Sabinet African Journals
Searchable collection of full-text South African journals
SA Media via Sabinet
The SA Media database covers more than 120 South African periodicals and newspapers from 1977 onwards, and in addition to the full-text searching available, index terms are also assigned to news articles. A link takes the user directly to the PDF version of the original newspaper article.
The Southern African Legal Information Institute publishes legal information for free public access which comprises mainly of case law and legislation from South Africa.
WestlawNext covers thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text. It is especially useful for legal research, as well as for current news coverage and business. PLEASE NOTE, WestlawNext is ON CAMPUS ACCESS only.
Westlaw UK Insight is an online legal encyclopaedia that aims to provide a comprehensive statement of the law in the United Kingdom, covering England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.
Westlaw UK is ACCESSIBLE ON CAMPUS VIA IP (You automatically have access).
OFF CAMPUS ACCESS AS FOLLOWS:
1.As you access this resource off campus, at the bottom of the screen choose "Access through academic institution"
2.Which organisation would you like to sign in with? Choose "Rhodes University"
3.This takes you to the RU Connected Page: sign in with your username and password
Choose "Yes, continue"
4.You will be asked to fill out a OnePass (only one time) : your Name, Surname and email address.
The database will then be accessible.
Westlaw UK user guides
Please login to Westlaw UK in order to access the user guides.
Cardiff Index to Legal abbreviations
This site offers abbreviations for law report series, journals and some statutes. Searching is by title or abbreviation.The Index is under continuous development with new abbreviations and titles being added on a regular basis.
Open Access journals
De Jure is an Open Access online law journal published by the University of Pretoria, and is accredited by the Department of Education.
Journal of Juridical Science
The Journal for Juridical Science is an IBSS accredited national professional journal which publishes original research articles which bridge the gap between legal scholarship and other pertinent academic disciplines.
Speculum Juris is an Open Access online law journal published by the Nelson R Mandela School of Law at the University of Fort Hare
The Journal of Commonwealth Law and Legal Education is an online, open access, peer-reviewed journal published once a year in collaboration with The Open University School of Law and is the official journal of the Commonwealth Legal Education Association (CLEA).
Useful Multidisciplinary Databases & e-rources
Multidisciplinary content. Archived to first issues. Current issues embargoed.
Highly recommended: Multidisciplinary journal articles
Web of Science
Web of Science is a citation index for scientific and scholarly research. It is a curated collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.
Web of Science Tutorials
To learn more about how to use the Web of Science and Scopus Databases for Research Evaluation see the Citation Analysis & Research Impact LibGuide