Skip to main content

Political & International Studies: Home

A guide to resources for Politics & International Studies

Home

Political Studies Collections

Welcome to Political & International Studies

Recently-arrived books

Faculty Librarian: Humanities & Education

Ayanda Qomfo's picture
Ayanda Qomfo
Contact:
Rhodes Main Library
Level 3 Humanities & Education
Tel: +27 46 603 7340

Databases/e-resources/articles/journals

Databases & e-resources: A to Ma

Databases & e-resources: Ne-W

Finding online journals

A-Z via SFX           

Enter journal title


Subscribed journals by publisher deal

Finding books & reference sources

Search All

 

Search the catalogue, articles, journals, books, media and more

Printed reference books

Online reference sources

Where in the library are the political studies books

Rhodes  Library uses a system known as Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) to arrange its books on the shelves. As a result, all books that cover the same subject will be shelved together under the assigned number. Political Studies books are found basically between the numbers 320 - 329. 

They are housed in the Humanities and Education level 3  of the Main Library. The prescribed books are kept in Short Loans Department on level 1 of the Main Library.

Basic shelf numbers for Political Studies books:

  • 321 Systems of governments and states
  • 322 Relation of the state to organized groups and their members
  • 323 Civil and political rights
  • 324 The political process
  • 325 International migration and coloniztion
  • 326 Slavery and emancipation
  • 327 International relations
  • 328 The legislative process

RefWorks

What is RefWorks

is a web-based online research management, writing and collaboration tool. It is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.  With RefWorks you can:

  • create your own database of references;
  • import references from textfiles, and RSS feeds
  • export references from article databases and from the Web;
  • share research with others; and
  • generate citations and bibliographies as you write.

Web-based means you can access RefWorks from any computer with internet access.

RefWorks is available to all Rhodes users through the University Library's subscription.

RefWorks tutorials and downloads

Referencing and plagiarism guide

Referencing and plagiarism guide