Linguistics and Applied Language Studies: Databases/e-resources/articles/journals

African-published research
African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and preeminent platform of African-published scholarly journals. AJOL is a Non-Profit Organisation that (since 1998) works to increase global & continental online access, awareness, quality & use of African-published, peer-reviewed research. Millions of monthly downloads by site users from nearly every country in the world are an indication of the need and widespread use of the AJOL initiative. More than half of the repeat users are from Africa.

EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users. EBSCOhost® is the world's most-used reference resource. It is a customizable, intuitive search experience designed to cater to user needs and preferences at every level of research, with many full text and secondary databases available.

Business, Management and Economics, Education, Information Systems, Language and Linguistics, Library and Information Studies, Social Sciences, Transport,

Multidisciplinary content. The academic content of Google. Use in conjuction with Scopus and Web of Science

Multidisciplinary content. Archived to first issues. Current issues embargoed.

Multidisciplinary: general reference publications, reference books, maps, biographies, images & more. Select from the list of databases

International organization dedicated to promoting adoption, creation, use, dissemination & preservation of electronic theses & dissertations

Provides access to over 150 000 authoritative ebooks.

An online database that indexes, abstracts, and provides full-text access to dissertations and theses. It includes over 2.4 million records and covers 1637 to the present.

covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean.

Range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date &cross-searchable dictionary, language reference & subject reference works published by OUP, Detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the Oxford Companions series

Full-text access to academic OUP monographs from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences & science.

SA information: journal articles, news clipping, government publications, SA theses information

Highly recommended: Multidisciplinary journal articles

A curated collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines.

International dissertations & theses. Includes links to full-text where available

Thousands of newspapers and magazines=One App
Connecting people to news.
Provides unlimited access to 6,000+ newspapers and magazines from around the world.Register for a free account on PressReader. Doing so will give you the full functionality of the platform (email alerts, complete personalization of the platform and everything synchronized across all devices with the same username and password)

NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.