LibGuides: Education: Databases/e-resources/articles/journals

Video / Film Databases

Video textbooks which explain concepts taught in undergraduate courses through high-impact animations and real-life experiments in Biology, Chemistry, Social Psychology and Microbiology.,

Kanopy is a video streaming service which covers more than 28 000 films from over 850 filmmakers, including The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, PBS, First Run Features, Kino Lorber, Music Box Films etc. The films cover all genres (Documentaries, IndiFilm Arthouse, Instructional etc) subject areas (Movies, Arts, Sciences, Business etc) and hundreds of different languages. Kanopy streams and makes available digital video content, including associated audio, graphics, text, images and other data and content, to universities for access and use pursuant to applicable access and license terms. Rhodes users have access to selected titles in this collection

Databases & e-resources: A to I

Clarivate Web of Science
Discover multidisciplinary content
from the world's most trusted global citation database.
ERIC: Institute of Education Sciences
EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users. EBSCOhost® is the world's most-used reference resource. It is a customizable, intuitive search experience designed to cater to user needs and preferences at every level of research, with many full text and secondary databases available.

Emerald
Business, Management and Strategy; Education; Health and Social Care; HR, Learning and Organizational Studies; Marketing; Operations, Logistics and Quality
GoogleScholar
Multidisciplinary content. The academic content of Google. Use in conjuction with Scopus and ISI Web of Science
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary content. Archived to first issues. Current issues embargoed.

Databases & e-resources N-W

Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations
International organization dedicated to promoting adoption, creation, use, dissemination & preservation of electronic theses & dissertations
Newspaper Source via EBSCOhost
Full text for more than 40 US & international papers.Selective text: regional US newspapers. TV & radio news transcripts. Select from the list of databases
OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.
Oxford English Dictionary
covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean.
Oxford Reference
Range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date &cross-searchable dictionary, language reference & subject reference works published by OUP, Detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the Oxford Companions series
Oxford Scholarship Online
Full-text access to academic OUP monographs from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences & science.
Proquest Ebook Central
Provides access to over 150 000 authoritative ebooks.
Sabinet African Journals Core Collection
Searchable collection of full-text South African journals
SA Media News Clippings
Newsclippings: Covers over 120 SA newspapers. More than 500 articles are selected daily.
Sabinet databases
SA information: journal articles, news clipping, government publications, SA theses information
ScienceDirect
Leading full-text database offering journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals
Scopus
Highly recommended: Multidisciplinary journal articles
SocINDEX with Full Text via EBSCOhost
Comprehensive sociology research database. Journals, book and conferences.
Select from the list of databases
Web of Science
Web of Science is a citation index for scientific and scholarly research. It is a curated collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.

Wiley Digital Archives
Wiley Digital Archives is a continuous program of new databases comprised of unique or rare historical primary sources, digitized from leading societies, libraries, and archives around the world, and made accessible in ways that tie directly to research outcomes and educational goals. All Archives are cross-searchable, and contain tools for searching, browsing, analyzing and visualizing primary source content.