LibGuides: Business School: Find Data & Statistics

Key Economics Data Sources

Off-campus users (staff and students) should note that they will be prompted for a staff/student barcode and PIN in order to access the library resources.

If you do not have access please register here for your "My Library account" - note that you must select your own PIN & that you must be registered for the current year as a Library user

IRESS SA, previously known as INET BFA
IRESS is the pre-eminent provider of stock market, fundamental research data and news to the Financial sector and the corporate market at large.
This resource is accessible on-campus only. To access the IRESS Expert section, please contact the Faculty Liaison Services (Commerce) on Level 3 (Tel: 046 6037339) Please Note: LOG OUT AFTER YOUR SESSION ON EXPERT, IN ORDER TO ALLOW OTHER USERS TO LOGIN.

IRESS: Getting Started

IRESS: How to search for Information

LSEG Workspace (formerly known as LSEG REFINITIV EIKON /THOMSON REUTERS DATASTREAM)
LSEG Workspace is a set of software products provided by LSEG for financial professionals to monitor and analyze financial information. It provides access to real time market data, news, fundamental data, analytics, trading and messaging tools.
ACCESS IS ON CAMPUS ONLY, DURING OFFICE HOURS, AND ONLY AT DEDICATED COMPUTER WORKSTATIONS IN THE RHODES UNIVERSITY LIBRARY. ACCESS IS ON CAMPUS ONLY, DURING OFFICE HOURS, AND ONLY AT DEDICATED COMPUTER WORKSTATIONS IN THE RHODES UNIVERSITY LIBRARY. CONTACT THE COMMERCE LIBRARIAN FOR ACCESS, AND TO BOOK A COMPUTER: Sue Rionda (s.rionda@ru.ac.za).

LSEG Workspace for students

LSEG Workspace Quick Start Guide

LSEG Learning Centre (videos, classes, documents)

A-Z list of selected Statistics and Data Sources

African Development Bank (AFDB) Data Portal Provides statistical data and indicators relating to African Countries. The Portal provides multiple customized tools to gather indicators, analyze them, and export them into multiple formats.
Africa Development Indicators (World Bank)☺ADI is the premier data source on the African economy. It contains 1400+ indicators & time series from 1965 for 53 countries. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, & environmental indicators.
Afrobarometer☺The Afrobarometer is an independent, nonpartisan research project that measures the social, political, and economic atmosphere in Africa. Afrobarometer surveys are conducted in more that a dozen African countries and are repeated on a regular cycle.
Balance of Payments and International Investment Position Statistics (BOP/IIP) on IMF eLibrary DataContains balance of payments and international investment position (IIP) data of individual countries, jurisdictions and other reporting entities and regional and world totals for major components of balance of payment. Balance of payment data are available for over 190 economies and international investment position data are available for over 160 economies.
loomberg ended web access to the online Bloomberg terminals at midnight on 30 June 2022. Please book a seat at Business Corner inside Chancellor Oppenheimer Library (Main Library) to access a Bloomberg terminal DataFirst ☺DataFirst is a unit at the University of Cape Town, South Africa devoted to survey research in Africa. The unit operates a Research Data Centre and provides basic and advanced training in microdata analysis. DataFirst is also an international web portal for South African census and survey data, as well as survey metadata and all research output based on this data. The DataFirst Survey Data Catalogue enables online keyword searches of the survey data available from DataFirst. efinitiv (formerly Thomson Reuters) product, Datastream is a comprehensive economic and financial time series database. See also: Eikon Temporary online access in response to disruptions caused by COVID-19. A login and password are required. Please book an online session to gain access.
is program has collected, analyzed & disseminated accurate & representative data on population, health, HIV, & nutrition through more than 200 surveys in over 70 countries.Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS) on IMF eLibrary
Eikon, a Refinitiv product, is a financial information service, including company data, market data, news, country and economic data, as well as analytics which are displayed in a highly visual way. See also Datastream Temporary online access in response to disruptions caused by COVID-19. A login and password are required. Please book an online session to gain access. database on measures of economic growth, productivity, employment creation, capital formation and technological change at the industry level for all European Union member states from 1970 onwards.Provides statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regionsFood Price Monitoring & Analysis Tool
base includes over 1000 monthly domestic retail and/or wholesale price series of major foods consumed in 82 countries and 11 international cereal export price series, covering a total of 20 different food commodity categories. The Tool allows the analysis of different data series both in nominal and real terms, and for the conversion of quotations from national currencies to US dollars and/or to a common unit of measure (kg or tonnes), as well as comparisons of domestic and international price trends. AOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries. TheGlobalEconomy.com is an open educational resource on the world economy. The website offers interactive tools - including global maps and charts - where users can learn about and compare over 200 countries. All of the charts, maps, and the data can be downloaded for free.he world’s most comprehensive data set on how adults save, borrow, make payments, and manage risk.Long term changes in social, economic and political systems ▼Provides data on budgetary operations, extra-budgetary operations, social security, and consolidated financial operations of central governments, with history to 1990.This page presents an overview of all available databases on the GGDC website and a short introduction to the contents of each databaseis page is a depository for data developed through research at the Center for International Development at Harvard University (CID). Often the data are associated with a research paper and, thus, the paper is also available for downloading.Harvard - Center for International Development
Excellent source for social sciences (including and beyond economics); keyword searchable; Holds the World Value Surveys, among other thi ☺The Ibrahim Index of African Governance is a new, comprehensive ranking of sub-Saharan African nations according to governance quality. It has been created in recognition of the need for a more comprehensive, objective and quantifiable method of measuring governance quality in sub-Saharan Africa. The Index assesses national progress in five key areas, which together constitute a holistic definition of good governance. IMF eLibrary Data
ovides access IFS (International Financial Statistics), BOPS (Balance of Payments), DOTS (Direction of Trade) and GFS (Government Finance Statistics). Provides demographic indicators, population pyramids, and source information for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. International Financial System (IFS) on IMF eLibrary Dataor most countries, IFS provides balance of payments, international liquidity, money and banking, current data on exchange rates, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, national accounts, and population, with history to 1948.

International Labour Organisation (ILO) - ILOSTAT☺ The primary source for cross-country statistics on the labour market. The database contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies.
International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)The International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) is a lead global intergovernmental agency for energy transformation that serves as the principal platform for international cooperation, supports countries in their energy transitions, and provides state of the art data and analyses on technology, innovation, policy, finance and investment.
International Trade Centre (ITC) Market Analysis ToolsThe Market Analysis Tools portal is the access point to one of the world’s largest databases on trade statistics, tariff data, foreign direct investment data and voluntary standards. ITC has developed five online tools – Trade Map, Market Access Map, Investment Map, Trade Competitiveness Map and Standards Map – that collectively help improve transparency in international trade ▼Financial data and company reports for South African listed, de-listed and unlisted companies. Access is from two stand-alone PCs in the Business Corner, Level 5, Chancellor Oppenheimer Library. Access online https://expert-iress-co-za.ezproxy.uct.ac.za/
Census microdata for social and economic research
National Income Dynamics Study - NIDS ☺Macro; Industry; International Trade; Individual; Hospital; Demographics & Vital Statistics; Patent & Scientific Papers etc. The National Income Dynamic Study (NIDS), is the first national panel study in South Africa. The Southern Africa Labour and Development Research Unit (SALDRU) based at the School of Economics at the University of Cape Town is tasked with implementing this survey OECD’s Online Library containing all books and papers published since 1998 as well as a vast collection of statistics with data going back to the early 1960s. UCT access does not include the IEA statistics.National Income Dynamics Study - NIDS

re3data.orgre3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. ☺Datasets used in several papers by Sachs and Warner
IPRI is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. Databases include: 1. SIPRI Arms Transfers Database 2. SIPRI Mapping ATT-Relevant Cooperation and Assistance Activities Database 3. SIPRI Arms Industry Database 4. SIPRI Multilateral Peace Operations Database 5. SIPRI Military Expenditure Database ☺Provides a wide variety of statistical and other data on South Africa, ranging from education, health, social development and welfare to business, employment, the economy, and politics. South African Reserve Bank (SARB)☺Statistics from the South African Reserve Bank
Source of data from Statistics South AfricaStats SA
Summers-Heston data set, or Penn World Table, has been the foundation of most empirical growth research since the mid-1980's. ☺Some of the data that UCLA stat uses in their labs and assignment Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP) is the world’s main provider of data on organized violence and the oldest ongoing data collection project for civil war, with a history of almost 40 years. Its definition of armed conflict has become the global standard of how conflicts are systematically defined and studied. Comtrade stands for United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database. Every year over 130 countries provide the United Nations Statistics Division with their annual international trade statistics, detailed by commodity and partner country. These data are processed into a standard format with consistent coding and valuation. All values are converted into US dollars using exchange rates supplied by the countries, or derived from monthly market rates and volume of trade.☺ United Nations Conference on Trade and Development offers ready-to-use analytical groupings, with a unique coverage for countries and products and a particular focus on developing and transition economies. The statistical series are regularly updated and classified into easy-to-navigate themes. UNESCO Institute for Statistics☺Access data and build your own statistical tables related to UNESCO's fields of action. The Data Centre contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication. The UIS collects the data for more than 200 countries from Member States and international organizations.

UNdata (United Nations Statistical Division)☺The United Nations Statistical Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) has launched a new internet-based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Users can search & download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system. ostly on growth
e World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data, according to the Open Data Terms of Use. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources.World Bank Data
World Development Indicators from World Bank☺World Bank Database of economic and demographic indicators for countries and regions of the world, stretching back to 1960.
EF publishes a comprehensive series of reports which examine in detail the broad range of global issues it seeks to address with stakeholders as part of its mission of improving the state of the world. Besides reports on its key events and standalone publications such as the Global Competitiveness Report, the Global Risks Report and the Global Gender Gap Report, the Forum produces landmark titles covering the environment, education, individual industries and technologies.World Economic Forum Reports
his dataset includes 30 indicators for 16 developing countries, representing 51% of the world’s population, for the years 1996 and 200 World Health Organization Data & Statistics☺Includes: Global Health Observatory (GHO), which provides access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. Provides critical data and analyses for over 30 health themes ranging from health systems to disease-specific themes, as well as direct access to the full database. Global Health Estimates (GHE), which provides a comprehensive and comparable assessment of mortality and loss of health due to diseases, injuries and risk factors. Global, regional and country estimates for all-cause mortality, and deaths and disability-adjusted life years (DALYs) by age, sex and cause, are available for download. WHO Mortality Database, with annual death registration data on causes of death by age and sex as reported from civil registration systems of more than 100 Member States.
Worldwide Governance Indicators Project from World Bank
☺ The Worldwide Governance Indicators (WGI) project reports aggregate and individual governance indicators for over 200 countries and territories over the period 1996–2017, for six dimensions of governance: Voice and Accountability Political Stability and Absence of Violence Government Effectiveness Regulatory Quality Rule of Law Control of Corruption
he UNU-WIDER World Income Inequality Database (WIID) collects and stores information on income inequality for developed, developing, and transition countries.
WTO Stats