Skip to Main Content

Zoology and Entomology: Databases/e-resources/articles/journals

A guide to resources for Zoology and Entomology

Databases & e-resources: A to Mc

African Journals Online
African-published research
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Consortium of natural history libraries that cooperate to digitize & make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity & to make that literature available for open access...
BioMedCentral
Over 200 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology and medicine
Choice Reviews
Reviews:academic books & e-media.ONE CONCURRENT USER. Access on campus.
EBSCOhost Research Databases
Multidisciplinary content.

Select required databases
FishBase
A relational database with information to cater to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, and zoologists.
GoogleScholar
Multidisciplinary content. The academic content of Google. Use in conjuction with Scopus and ISI Web of Science
GreenFILE via EBSCOhost
All aspects of human impact to the environment. Select from the list of databases
HighWire Press
Largest archive of free full-text science on Earth!
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary content. Archived to first issues. Current issues embargoed.

Jove
JoVE Video Journal - peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal, publishing experimental techniques in a visual format with text protocols.

JoVE Science Education - use the innovative video collections to better teach and learn key concepts and fundamental techniques. These simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations cover a wide range of STEM subjects including Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Psychology, Clinical Medicine, and Engineering.

Please watch the About JoVE(Journal of Visualized Experiments) video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HTZkOq9jlCw.

Databases & e-resources: Mi-W

Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations
International organization dedicated to promoting adoption, creation, use, dissemination & preservation of electronic theses & dissertations
OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Full-text access to academic OUP monographs from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences & science.
PapersFirst via OCLC FirstSearch
Index of papers at conferences worldwide. Published congress, symposium, conference, exposition & meeting papers
PubMed
Includes veterinary publications:
Millions of citations: biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals & online books

Sabinet Discover
Sabinet Discover is the ultimate information services tool providing seamless access to comprehensive African legal, news and research content. The platform allows subscribers and non-subscribers to discover and effortlessly access the richness of Sabinet’s information services.

ScienceDirect
Leading full-text database offering journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals
Scopus
Highly recommended: Multidisciplinary journal articles
Virtual Museum (University of Cape Town)
A platform for citizen scientists to contribute to biodiversity projects. Instead of specimens in drawers or bottles, view digital photographs
Web of Science
Highly recommended: Multidisciplinary. Accredited journals
World Almanac via FirstSearch
Biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, statistics
World Newspaper Archive: Africa 1800 - 1922 via Readex
19th & 20th cent. African papers: Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda &Zimbabwe.
WorldCat
A union catalog which itemizes the collections of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries.
WorldCatDissertations
International dissertations & theses. Includes links to full-text where available

BrowZine Journal Lookup

Subscribed journals by publisher deal

American Chemical Society

Recommendation: search for articles using the databases (in particular, Google Scholar, Scopus & Web of Science)