Chemistry: Finding books & reference sources

With over 4,700 entries, including over 200 new terms for this edition, this is the ideal reference resource for students of chemistry at all levels, either at school or at university, undergraduate lecturers, and students and lecturers in related disciplines such as biology. Thanks to its greater breadth of content, this latest edition of the Dictionary of Chemistry also appeals to students in related disciplines such as medicine, forensics, and metallurgy

This comprehensive dictionary provides clear definitions of all the units, prefixes, and styling of the Système International (SI), as well as industry-specific and traditional terms currently in use.

Includes sections on microbial ecology and microbial models

The topics chosen for this edition range from the key role of microbes in the evolution of all life forms, to the microbial nature of the biosphere, and the microbial component of all human activities

pt. 1. Preliminaries -- pt. 2. Structure of heterocycles -- pt. 3. Reactivity of heterocycles -- pt. 4. Synthesis of heterocycles.

This classic and well-known reference was originally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties, it is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering.

Basic physical properties of chemical compounds -- Critical properties and acentic factor -- Enthalpy of formation (live eqns.) -- Enthalpy of vaporization (live eqns.) -- Entropy of formation (live eqns.) -- Entropy of gas (live eqns.) -- Gibbs energy of formation (live eqns.) -- Heat capacity of gas (live eqns.) -- Helmholtz energy of formation (live eqns.) -- Internal energy of formation (live eqns.) -- Basic physical properties of common solvents -- Safety properties of common solvents.

core collection of titles includes a broad selection of over 100 dictionary and reference titles across the subject spectrum