Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AccessPharmacyTM from McGraw-Hill is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
British Pharmacopoeia (BP)
The British Pharmacopoeia (BP) is the official collection of standards for UK medicinal products and pharmaceutical substances. Produced by the British Pharmacopoeia Commission Secretariat of the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency, the BP makes a valuable contribution to public health by setting publicly available standards for the quality of medicines.The British Pharmacopoeia (BP) is the authoritative collection of standards for UK medicines and is an essential reference for anyone involved in pharmaceutical R&D, manufacture, testing and regulation.
DRUGDEX® from Micromedex (includes the Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference)
Reviewed by international experts, DRUGDEX evidence-based documents cover FDA-approved and investigational prescription and nonprescription drugs, as well as non-U.S. preparations. Areas discussed include dosage, pharmacokinetics, cautions, interactions, clinical applications, adverse effects, comparative efficacy, drug of choice information, and orphan drug status.
United States Pharmacopeia–National Formulary (USP–NF)
The United States Pharmacopeia–National Formulary (USP–NF) is a book of public pharmacopeial standards. It contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, medical devices, and dietary supplements. The USP–NF is a combination of two official compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF).
SINGLE INSTITUTIONAL ACCOUNT LICENSE THAT ALLOWS 20 PEOPLE TO ACCESS USP SIMULTANEOUSLY.
Annual Reviews is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to provide the worldwide scientific community with a useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature as indexed by the Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports® (JCR).
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication. BioMed Central views open access to research as essential in order to ensure the rapid and efficient communication of research findings. BioMed Central (BMC) is the open access publisher of 194 peer-reviewed open access journals.
The collaboration between Wiley and The South African Medical Research Council (SAMRC) offers free access, through IP recognition, to the Cochrane Library throughout South Africa. The national license will commence in June 2017. Healthcare practitioners will have sustained access to reliable and unbiased Cochrane Reviews in order to apply well-informed decisins at the point of care to deliver quality healthcare to patients.
EBSCOhost: search multiple databases
EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users. EBSCOhost® is the world's most-used reference resource. It is a customizable, intuitive search experience designed to cater to user needs and preferences at every level of research, with many full text and secondary databases available.
Business, Management (including Pharmacies) and Economics, Education, Information Systems, Language and Linguistics, Library and Information Studies, Social Sciences, Transport.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. Google Scholar aims to rank documents the way researchers do, weighing the full text of each document, where it was published, who it was written by, as well as how often and how recently it has been cited in other scholarly literature.
JoVE Video Journal - peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal, publishing experimental techniques in a visual format with text protocols.
JoVE Science Education - use the innovative video collections to better teach and learn key concepts and fundamental techniques. These simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations cover a wide range of STEM subjects including Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Psychology, Clinical Medicine, and Engineering.
Please watch the About JoVE(Journal of Visualized Experiments) video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HTZkOq9jlCw.
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO)
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) is an online library offering access to thousands of academic works from the celebrated scholary list of Oxford University Press. The Rhodes University Library subscribes to the following Oxford Scholarship subject collections: Biology, Business and Management, Classics, Economics and Finance, History, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science and Psychology.
POPLINE® contains the world’s most comprehensive collection of population, family planning and related reproductive health and development literature. An international resource, POPLINE helps program managers, policy makers, and service providers in low- and middle-income countries and in development-supportive agencies and organizations gain access to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished documents.
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
With a sound history of more than two decades in the information industry, Sabinet is firmly established as a leader in facilitating electronic access to Southern African information: journal articles, news clipping, government publications, SA theses information.
SAePublications via Sabinet
The Sabinet African ePublications (SA ePublications) service has been available online to clients with great success since 2001. This service is the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform which focuses on information originating from or pertaining to Africa.
SAMedia via Sabinet
Newsclippings: Covers over 120 SA newspapers. More than 500 articles are selected daily.
he Freedom Collection is available to ScienceDirect Complete customers only (academic). It offers the chance to get access to all non-subscribed Elsevier journal content at a significantly reduced rate. Currently there are over 2700 titles in this collection. Coverage is generally from January 1995 to the present date.
SciFinder-n is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.
Registering an account: You are required to register in order to use the web version. Please complete the registration process first - https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=CE06ECB9-86F3-50AB-13C4-B00F977EC533. Please note that you must have a Rhodes email address (for web access registration).
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track and analyze research. Updated daily, it includes the abstracts and references of 15,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 international publishers, ensuring broad interdisciplinary coverage. In addition, Scopus offers seamless linking to full-text articles and other library resources and also integrates web and patent searches directly from its search interface.
The SpringerLink Online Journal collection includes more than 1,750 peer-reviewed journals. All journals published subsequent to 1996 can be accessed in their full-text format , with the exception of some take-over titles (mainly Chinese and Russian) and 104 Brill e-journals and 2 Woodhead e-journals. If users "hit" on these titles, they will see the "Pay-Per-View" screens. To assist you, all titles your subscribing institution has access to are highlighted with "a pair of glasses" next to each. In the case of all e-journals to which your institution does not have access, e.g. the Brill and Woodhead titles, no indicator will be shown / the space next to the title will be blank.
Web of Science
ISI Web of Knowedge is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It is a multidisciplinary database and covers over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Powerful tools include cited reference searching, Citation Maps, and the Analyze Tool.
Subscribed journals by publisher deal
Off-campus users (staff and students) should note that they will be prompted for a staff/student barcode and PIN in order to access the library resources.
If you do not have access please register here for your "My Library account" - note that you must select your own PIN & that you must be registered for the current year as a Library user
Please find the 'How To' guide here