Pharmacy: Starting out

Analytical chemistry has been important since the early days of chemistry and generally involves the use of modern, sophisticated instruments for qualitative and quantitative analysis. However, the principles upon which these instruments are built can be traced to more traditional techniques. Students of life sciences must have the knowledge of instrumental tools and their application. This book is addressed to meet the needs of students and other users of analytical instruments. It gives us an immense pleasure to present the Handbook of "Pharmaceutical Analysis" to our students and other professionals.

The dangers of illegal drugs are well known and rarely disputed, but how harmful are alcohol and tobacco by comparison? What are we missing by banning medical research into magic mushrooms, LSD and cannabis? Can they be sources of valuable treatments? The second edition of Drugs without the hot air looks at the science to allow anyone to make rational decisions based on objective evidence, asking: *What is addiction? Is there an addictive personality? *What is the role of cannabis in treating epilepsy?

Explores how scientists create superheavy elements, using giant machines to try to make single atoms of mysterious artefacts that have never existed on Earth. From the first elements past uranium and their role in the development of the atomic bomb to the latest discoveries stretching the chemical world, Superheavy reveals the hidden stories lurking at the edge of the periodic table.

This unique textbook considers the role of basic pharmaceutics in determining or modifying clinical outcomes and in explaining the behaviour of medicines in the body, including adverse reactions due to formulations and excipients. An Introduction to Clinical Pharmaceutics covers recent developments such as personalised therapies and nanotechnology

This new edition of Non-prescription Medicines has been revised and updated to reflect amendments in legal category status of several products from prescription-only (POM) to pharmacy sale (P) status. Over-the-counter (OTC) medicines currently available in the UK are reviewed in alphabetically arranged chapters on the conditions that they are licensed to treat. Each chapter includes: an introduction to the condition; - detailed description of the available products - mode of action - side-effects, cautions and contraindications - interactions and dosage; - product selection points and product recommendations. Non-prescription Medicines is the only publication in the UK that deals with available OTC medicines comprehensively and in depth.

Pharmacy Management of Long-term Medical Conditions shows you how you can use your expertise to improve health outcomes and quality of life for people with LTMCs by ensuring they get the best out of their medicines. It contains 17 chapters with each chapter focusing on one of the most prevalent long-term medical conditions that you may encounter day-to-day including an overview, diagnosis, pharmacy input, pharmacy review and management/treatment. Pharmacy Management of Long-term Medical Conditions features useful resources and case studies at the end of each chapter to help bring guidelines to life and into the practice setting. Written by expert pharmacists in their respective fields, it provides practical information that can be easily implemented in practice to make a difference to patient care and outcomes. This book is designed to support primary care pharmacists working in community and GP practice pharmacy.

Analysis of Cosmetic Products, Second Edition advises the reader from an analytical chemistry perspective on the choice of suitable analytical methods for production monitoring and quality control of cosmetic products. This book helps professionals working in the cosmetic industry or in research laboratories select appropriate analytical procedures for production, maintain in-market quality control of cosmetic products and plan for the appropriate types of biomedical and environmental testing. This updated and expanded second edition covers fundamental concepts relating to cosmetic products, current global legislation, the latest analytical methods for monitoring and quality control, characterization of nanomaterials and other new active ingredients, and an introduction to green cosmetic chemistry.

Chemistry is a conceptual subject and, in order to explain many of these concepts, models are needed to describe and explain the microscopic world and relate it to the macroscopic properties of matter. Research has shown that as students progress in chemistry, the models they experience change and many contradict students' specific everyday experiences and use of language. Students' alternative conceptions in chemistry should be taken seriously. This publication has been designed to help tackle the issue in the classroom. In this resource you will find.

Being able to effectively and efficiently locate and analyse up-to-date drug information is a key part of most health professionals' roles. Drug information and literature evaluation provides a succinct guide on how to undertake this important task. It details the proper approach for answering drug/health information questions and looks at tertiary and secondary resources, practice guidelines, systematic reviews and meta-analyses. The second half of the book focuses on experimental studies from methods to interpretation, highlighting important considerations for evaluating and analysing clinical studies.

Herbal Medicine in Andrology: An Evidence-Based Update provides a comprehensive overview of ethnomedical approaches in andrology, including ethnopharmacology of plant extracts and relevant bioactive compounds. It highlights information on the availability of medicinal plants and the legal and procedural processes involved in developing a marketable product. This reference helps clinicians and scientists develop an understanding on how herbal medicine can be used to treat andrological patients in practice.

Chemistry is a conceptual subject and, in order to explain many of these concepts, models are needed to describe and explain the microscopic world and relate it to the macroscopic properties of matter. Research has shown that as students progress in chemistry, the models they experience change and many contradict students' specific everyday experiences and use of language. Students' alternative conceptions in chemistry should be taken seriously. This publication has been designed to help tackle the issue in the classroom. In this resource you will find.

Drugs in Use: Case Studies for Pharmacists and Prescribers helps you to bridge the gap between theoretical knowledge about medicines and the practical application to your patients. The sixth edition of this popular text has been extensively revised to ensure that a primary care focus is included whenever possible, in order to reflect the fact that drug management of chronic conditions increasingly takes place in primary care, and that this is an expanding role for pharmacists working in GP surgeries. There are new chapters on atrial fibrillation, chronic asthma, general surgery, sepsis, deprescribing and supporting adherence.

With its origins in the EU-funded Global Research in Paediatrics (GRiP) Network of Excellence, Prescribing Medicines for Children is a truly international textbook, harnessing the expertise of both paediatricians and pharmacists. It aims to improve holistic understanding of paediatric pharmacology and prescribing - from the development of new drugs through to practical administration of medicines - and is targeted towards all multidisciplinary team members involved in delivering safe and effective medicines for children and infants.

Using CBD oil for calming and relaxation techniques has become a popular trend-and it's easy to see why! It can reduce stress and anxiety, relieve pain, and reduce inflammation with benefits that can be felt immediately. In CBD Oil for Health you will find 100 different uses for CBD oil that will promote and transcend your wellness routine. Including information about CBD oil such as why it's legal, how it works in the body, its health benefits, proper dosage, special considerations and more, this detailed resource will allow you to use your CBD oil with confidence. You will discover all the benefits this all-natural oil can bring-without dangerous chemicals or costly procedures.

Use THE definitive reference for laboratory medicine and clinical pathology! Tietz Textbook of Laboratory Medicine, 7th Edition provides the guidance necessary to select, perform, and evaluate the results of new and established laboratory tests. Comprehensive coverage includes the latest advances in topics such as clinical chemistry, genetic metabolic disorders, molecular diagnostics, hematology and coagulation, clinical microbiology, transfusion medicine, and clinical immunology. From a team of expert contributors led by Nader Rifai, this reference includes access to wide-ranging online resources on Expert Consult - featuring the comprehensive product with fully searchable text, regular content updates, animations, podcasts, over 1300 clinical case studies, lecture series, and more.

Provides knowledge and models of good practice needed by students to work safely in the laboratory as they progress through four years of undergraduate laboratory work:

* Aligns with the revised safety instruction requirements from the ACS Committee on Professional Training 2015 “Guidelines and Evaluation Procedures for Bachelor’s Degree Programs”
* Provides a systematic approach to incorporating safety and health into the chemistry curriculum
* Topics are divided into layers of progressively more advanced and appropriate safety issues so that some topics are covered 2-3 times, at increasing levels of depth
* Develops a strong safety ethic by continuous reinforcement of safety; to recognize, assess, and manage laboratory hazards; and to plan for response to laboratory emergencies
* Covers a thorough exposure to chemical health and safety so that students will have the proper education and training when they enter the workforce or graduate school

Medical Pharmacology at a Glance is recognised as an excellent starting point for pharmacology study. This international best-seller is the perfect companion for all medical and health students, providing an accessible, visual overview of pharmacology. This 9th edition has been extensively updated, with the latest guidelines, enhanced artwork, increased pedagogical features and online content.

More detailed than an outlined review but less overwhelming than an encyclopedic reference, Brenner and Stevens'Pharmacology, 6th Edition, focuses on the essential principles you need to know in a concise, easy-to-understand manner. Authored by Craig W. Stevens, PhD, this highly illustrated introductory text helps you learn and retain key information in pharmacology—taking you from course exams and the USMLE Step 1 right through to clinical practice.

Cosmetics are the most widely applied products to the skin and include creams, lotions, gels and sprays. Their formulation, design and manufacturing ranges from large cosmetic houses to small private companies. This book covers the current science in the formulations of cosmetics applied to the skin. It includes basic formulation, skin science, advanced formulation, and cosmetic product development, including both descriptive and mechanistic content with an emphasis on practical aspects.

Emerging methods, as well as best practices in well-used methods, in pharmacy are of great benefit to researchers, graduate students, graduate programs, residents and fellows also in other health science areas. Researchers require a text to assist in the design of experiments to address seemingly age-old problems. New interventions are needed to improve medication adherence, patients' lived experiences in health care, provider-patient relationships, and even various facets of pharmacogenomics.

Financial Management for Pharmacists, 4th edition, was developed to meet the need for a pharmacy text that covers the basics of financial accounting, managerial accounting, finance, and pharmacoeconomics. The goal of the text is to provide pharmacy students and managers with financial management tools that they can use to make decisions about common management problems and to better understand the impact of those decisions.

The full 21st edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is now on AccessPharmacy!

Harrison’s remains the most trusted resource in a world influenced by endless sources of medical information. The most timely and comprehensive updates from the world’s top experts are featured in the 21st edition.

The gold standard on pharmaceutical calculations, this widely acclaimed text covers the full range of calculations pharmacy students must learn for successful pharmacy practice, including dosing, compounding, metric conversions and more. Thoroughly reviewed by practitioners and educators and extensively revised and updated, this 16th edition maintains high standards for both academic and basic practice requirements while offering the most comprehensive and in-depth coverage of pharmacy calculations available. A consistent, step-by-step approach makes it easy to work through the problems and gain a greater understanding of the underlying concepts, and new online access to calculation problems makes this the most engaging edition yet.

Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference provides unbiased and evaluated information on drugs and medicines in use around the world. It is prepared by an experienced team of pharmacists and life scientists who use their professional expertise to select the most clinically relevant and appropriate information from reliable published sources, to provide an unbiased and evaluated digest of the literature.
1. Vol. A Drug Monographs
2. Vol. B Preparations; Manufacturers; Pharmaceutical terms in various languages; General index; Cyrillic index

Whilst most pharmacy undergraduate texts are subject specific, "Pharmacy Case Studies" encourages students to take an integral approach to pharmacy via a series of pharmacy cases. Knowledge gained within the individual areas of law and ethics, pharmaceutics, pharmacology and pathology are tested by each example, bringing together all areas taught on the degree course. Each chapter contains five case studies, starting with uncomplicated cases and increasing in complexity as they expand.

Pharmaceutical Calculations is the perfect text for students or professionals aiming to understand or develop the calculations skills that play a significant role in building a competent pharmacist. This text focuses on basic math fundamentals essential for pharmaceutical calculations, followed by calculations that are more specific to compounding and formulation of individual dosage. This helpful approach incorporates solved examples for each individual section followed by practice sets, with an answer key to each problem. At the end of each chapter case studies demonstrate the application of mathematical calculations in compounding actual prescriptions.

Science has never been more important, yet science education faces serious challenges. At present, science education research only sees half the picture, focusing on how students learn and their changing conceptions. Both teaching practice and what is taught, science knowledge itself, are missing. This book offers new, interdisciplinary ways of thinking about science teaching that foreground the forms taken by science knowledge and the language, imagery and gesture through which they are expressed.

An internationally acclaimed reference work recognized as one of the most authoritative and comprehensive sources of information on excipients used in pharmaceutical formulation with this new edition providing over 400 new and revised excipient monographs with enhanced online features, compiled by over 170 experts in pharmaceutical formulation or excipient manufacture from around the world; the monographs have been reviewed and revised in light of current knowledge. There has been a greater emphasis on including published data from primary sources although some data from laboratory projects included in previous editions have been retained where relevant.

Drugs in Use: Case Studies for Pharmacists and Prescribers helps you to bridge the gap between theoretical knowledge about medicines and the practical application to your patients.

MCQs in Pharmaceutical Science and Technology includes 600 MCQs progressing from basic science through to clinical considerations.