Skip to main content

Margaret Smith Library, SAIAB: Coronavirus: Free Access Collection

The library at the South African Institute for Aquatic Biodiversity contributes to research and teaching in the aquatic sciences through heritage collections and a global web of data. Resources and services are shared with Rhodes University Library

CAMBRIDGE free access to 1700 ebooks , Cambridge Companions, Cambridge Histories, Cambridge Elements etc. - COVID-19

De Gruyter and Publisher Partners

Walter de Gruyter - Wikipedia

Current access:  only available to Open Content / Free Content

To facilitate e-learning during this Covid-19 pandemic, Rhodes Univeraity would like to let you know that we now have temporary access to 75,000 DRM-free e-books from 1650 to 2016 

From Arts & Architecture to Linguistics and  Mathematics to Computer science,  De Gruyter provides unparalleled breadth and depth of content across 30 disciplines in social sciences, humanities,  science, technology and engineering . Build essential skills, stay on top of research developments, and discover solutions within the comfort of your home.  

How to access it?

           1. Access e-books here (we have access to 75 000 of the 95 011 titles in the list via this link)

2. You can go to this link to find out what content has been made accessible to RU from each partner

This access is available from now until 30 June, 2020. 

 Use of the content is governed by applicable copyright law. Inappropriate use of material such as unauthorized resale and systematic downloading could result in suspension of access.

Please note that access to content from the University of California Press, University of Chicago Press and Yale University Press will be delayed until the end of April/early May due to our platform upgrade.

 

NewsBank Hot Topics

News Bank - Home | Facebook

The Hot Topics area of Access World News highlights current topics and the broad coverage in Access World News. 

Click here for current collection of Hot Topics in the News Hot Topics

For news and information about Coronavirus (COVID-19) click here 

For Special Reports

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews (@AnnualReviews) | Twitter

Click here to browse and read all titles

 

RefWorks - End-User Training Recording Now Available

Duke University Press

ProQuest E-book Central

ProQuestResearch Companion

Karger Publishing

Image result for karger logo

Through 2020 Karger is sharing research data and findings relevant to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak with the Topic Article Package: Coronavirus (COVID-19) .

Project Muse

Project MUSE is pleased to support its participating publishers in making scholarly content  free available on their platform until

June 2020.

Taylor & Francis

Home | Taylor & Francis Group

Taylor & Francis provides the research community with free access to COVID-19 research here. 

OCLC Services

Sabinet Online (@SabinetSA) | Twitter

OCLC is maintaining a growing list of this freely available content at which includes recommended options to access through OCLC services.

American Psychological Society

Novel Coronavirus Information Center

The BMJ - Coronavirus (covid-19): Latest news and resources

COVID 19 Resources: Learn More: Free Resources & Guidelines

Berlin Philharmonic Digital Concert Hall

The Metropolitan Opera

Image result for the metropolitan opera

Met launches “Nightly Met Opera Streams,” a free series of encore Live in HD presentations streamed on the company website during the coronavirus closure

Elsevier Electronic Textbooks Covid-19

  

ScienceDirect has given free access to 256 textbooks - until 31 August 2020

Here is the link to OPAC where users can get direct access to the 256 textbooks

Coronavirus Research Hub

To support individuals researching diagnostic, treatment and preventive solutions - use this link

Users can also access these books via the ScienceDirect platform (users will be prompted to submit their off campus logins). Once there, click on "Journals and Books" at the top of the screen; scroll down the options on the left to Access Type, and tick Subscribed and complimentary. Thereafter, users can browse the list or search for a title using the search box.

JSTOR and Participating publishers are making content freely available due to COVID-19

image.png

JSTOR and Participating publishers are making content freely available due to COVID-19:

***you may need to accept the security warning certificate when accessing the JSTOR content***

Click here to access ebooks - (see Title list - for titles that will not be accessible after 30 June and titles that will still be accessible to 31 August 2020).

Click here to access Wits University Press ebooks –  unlimited access to almost 200 books up to 1 July 2020.

Click here to access JSTOR Archive Collection
 

Access to Primary Source Collections until 31 December 2020:

19th Century British Pamphlets

World Heritage Sites: Africa

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa

Global Plants

 

Access to Thematic Collections until 31 December 2020:

Lives of Literature

Security Studies

Sustainability

Edinburgh University Press (EUP)

Edinburgh University Press - Wikipedia

Edinburgh University Press have released free Virtual Issues of Medieval Studies and Shakespeare.

Both Virtual Issues will be available for free until the end of 2020!

1. The Medieval Studies Virtual Issue provides articles across the humanities, from literary studies, the arts, history and more

Access here

2.  The Shakespeare Virtual Issue is a list of hand-picked articles from across our catalogue of journals, dedicated to the Bard, his work and reception across both history and literary studies.

Access here

Our blog gives you all of the information you need on how to access our free sample issues.

KORTEXT FREE STUDENT TEXTBOOK PROGRAMME

image.png

KORTEXT FREE STUDENT TEXTBOOK PROGRAMME until 30 June 2020

Kortext, working closely with major academic publishers and Jisc, are providing access to some core university textbooks from key publishers.

Access to your selected title is via the TENET SAFIRE (SAML) federated authentication system using your university login credentials. Type Rhodes University in the organizational search box on the landing page and click Continue to proceed to the Rhodes SAML login screen.  Enter your Rhodes username and password to get access to the title you have selected.

Access textbooks here

Oxford University Press

Oxford University Logo png download - 1800*1013 - Free Transparent ...

Oxford University Press is offering free content :

COVID-19 : Free Resources Hub

Springer Nature - Free online Textbooks

Springer Nature To Extend Content Sharing To Whole Springer Nature ...

Springer Nature have opened up close to 500 Online Textbooks for free until the end of July 2020

Public Books Database

GeoscienceWorld : e-Book content available until end June

GeoScienceWorld: new ebook platform | ebooks@cambridge

GeoScienceWorld have opened up their eBook content until the end of June

NEWSBANK's : Access World News

Image result for newsbank access world news

Newsbank's Videos on using your collection Access World News

Wiley Online Library

Loeb Classical Library

Image result for ohio state university Press

All books and journals made freely available, through 30 June 2020

 

Clarivate - BioWorld

Image result for clarivate logo

Clarivate's daily newsletter covering the life sciences landscape, BioWorld, provides complimentary access to COVID-19 coverage.

Click here to access more than 400 articles published to date, and check back daily for additional articles

 

The Royal Society

Image result for the royal society publishing logo

Following our decision to make our relevant COVID-19 content free to access, we have now decided to remove all access controls on our journals for the time being.

Because the paywall will be down, this means that you will have to access additional content for researchers here

 

Scitrus : Novel Coronavirus Content Free to Access

GALE - COVID 19 Hub

signature_509644141

Resources to support libraries and educators impacted by COVID-19

Please feel free to access not only the Professional development eBooks collection but the rest of the free access within the hub

Just in case it asks for a password please enter open

Coronavirus Free Access Collection

Image result for cambridge university press corona free access

Cambridge University Press has made a collection of more than 80 relevant book chapters and journal articles freely available on Cambridge Core. Articles are drawn from journals including Epidemiology & Infection, Prehospital and Disaster Medicine, Infection Control & Hospital Epidemiology and from Animal Health Research Reviews, among others. Further articles will be added to the collection once they have been published.

Bureau Van DIJK ( a Moody's analytic company)

Image result for bureau van dijk logo

Moody’s Analytics: Free access to our research and views.  This site brings together insights from across the company to help and understand the financial implications of the outbreak. Click her: website dedicated to COVID-19 

JoVE is Changing the Way Science is Done

Paris Art Museum

Image result for Paris Art Museum

Paris Musées, a collection of 14 museums in Paris have recently made high-res digital copies of 100,000 artworks freely available to the public on their collections website. Artists with works in the archive include Rembrandt, Monet, Picasso, Cézanne, and thousands of others.

Remote Learning Resources and COVID-19 Content from AccessMedicine

Wiley Digital Archives

The Association of Research Libraries, BioOne and their Publishing partners

In collaboration with the Association of Research Libraries, BioOne and their publishing partners have made articles related to coronavirus  available via open access through 2020.

McGraw Hill

                                                                                

Mc Graw-Hill has created a distance-learning toolkit by using AccessMedicine  to help empower healthcare professions faculty for online teaching and learning during this critical time

Emerald Insight free material

 

Image result for emerald publishing

Research on COVID-19 and the management of epidemics and pandemics is free for anyone to access and Emerald have also made this available with full text and data mining rights to PubMed Central and the World Health Organisation repository. Emerald will continue to make relevant research freely available on this site.

Emerald is a digital-first, open publisher and will continue to be available throughout this public health crisis.

Temporary free access to all Microbiology Society journal content

The Microbiology Society is temporarily removing the paywall from their journals’ platform, www.microbiologyresearch.org.

Access will be free to all until further notice.

Canadian Science Publishing

EDP Sciences

EDP Sciences Publishing partner of the scientific communities

To support all researches during the Covid-19 pandemic, EDP Sciences has

opened the journals content on our site from 2018-2020 so it is freely available for all to read

 

Cochrane Library : Special Collections on Covid-19

WWIS - free reasearch on Covid-19

ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database

ProQuest just announced the launch of a Coronavirus Research Database in response to the rapidly growing need for authoritative content related to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19).  The database has been automatically enabled at no cost for all ProQuest platform customers, and can be accessed at search.proquest.com/coronavirus. The new cross-disciplinary resource enables researchers to search and discover full-text articles, dissertations and other content from key publishers in one place.

Andrea Bocelli LIVE Easter Concert 12 April 2020

 

Andrea Bocelli to live-stream free concert for Easter Sunday

LIVE Andrea Bocelli Easter Concert held on 12 April 2020