LibGuides: Images, pictures, photographs, clip art, etc. : Happy browsing!

Please check any legal /copyright permissions before using images

A Democracy of Images This link opens in a new window
From the Smithsonian American Art Museum
African Photos This link opens in a new window
All photos on this site are free for public use
American Museum of Photography This link opens in a new window
The American Museum of Photography is a Virtual Museum
British Library Images Online This link opens in a new window
British Library Images Online is a unique resource for picture buyers, graphic designers and publishers, enabling you to license thousands of high quality images from the British Library's unparalleled collections
CalPhotos: from University of California, Berkeley This link opens in a new window
Collection of 358,631 photos of plants, animals, fossils, people, and landscapes from around the world
Clip Art Gallery from Discovery Education This link opens in a new window
Permission is granted to download no more than ten different clip art images for non-revenue-producing use on hard copy documents or on Web sites (but note restrictions)
FreeFoto.com This link opens in a new window
FreeFoto.com is the largest collection of free photographs on the Internet (link back and attribution required)
Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
LIFE photo archive This link opens in a new window
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google
Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongerewa) This link opens in a new window
Over 30,000 images available for download and re-use in high resolution.
National Geographic: Photography This link opens in a new window
National Science Foundation: Multimedia Gallery: Images This link opens in a new window
New York Public Library Digital Gallery This link opens in a new window
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Pictify This link opens in a new window
Pictify is the global home for sharing your favourite artworks, seeing other people’s, adding your comments, and building your own collection of favourite paintings, sculptures, photography, drawings, or any other art medium. Through Pictify you can share all art from the earliest cave drawings, the Renaissance, Old Masters and Impressionists to art works created today.
SpringerImages: scientific images that span the scientific, technical and medical fields This link opens in a new window
Includes high-quality clinical images from images.MD. The continually updated collection – currently over 3 million images – gathers photos, graphs, histograms, figures, and tables, and is available to libraries and their patrons via a searchable online database. The SpringerImages interface enables users to search faster, more broadly and more accurately, through captions, keywords, context and more, even jumping from the image to the source article. Users can create personalized image “sets,” and can easily export images for use in their own presentations or lectures.
Visual English Dictionary (for Rhodes University users) This link opens in a new window
The illustrations and cutaways from this OUP Visual Dictionary provide extraordinary rich treatment of a wide range of topics from astronomy and the human body to the arts and society.

5 ways to find images for your website

20 different sources and tools for free images, covering searchable image sites, create-your-own-image tools, and more.

What is Creative Commons?

Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools. There are various types of Creative Commons licenses that range from allowing any type of use with no attribution to allowing only certain uses and no changes.

What is public domain?

Works in the public domain are those whose copyrights have expired, have been forfeited, or are inapplicable. Finding something on the internet does not mean it is in the public domain.

What is royalty-free?

Royalty-free images aren’t necessarily free. In most cases, you’ll have to pay a one-time fee to obtain the rights to use the image. Then you can use it as many times as you like. The “free” in “royalty-free” only means that you do not have to pay royalties to the owner of the image every time you use it. For a comprehensive read on royalty-free images, check out this guide by Amos Struck.

https://buffer.com/library/free-images/

best practice example of online image attribution, some of the problems that face anyone trying to work out if they can reuse an image online and five ways to find great images licensed for reuse, - See more at: http://www.cilip.org.uk/cilip/blog/5-ways-find-images-your-website#sthash.HLYBb2jg.dpuf

best practice example of online image attribution, some of the problems that face anyone trying to work out if they can reuse an image online and five ways to find great images licensed for reuse - See more at: http://www.cilip.org.uk/cilip/blog/5-ways-find-images-your-website#sthash.HLYBb2jg.dpuf