Human Kinetics & Ergonomics: Starting out

ISO 27500:2016 outlines the principles and rationale behind designing and managing organizations with human needs and capabilities in mind. It emphasizes the importance of considering the impact on employees, customers, and the wider community, highlighting the benefits of a human-centered approach for various organizations.

ISO 15535 standard provides general requirements for establishing anthropometric databases and their associated reports. It covers aspects like population characteristics, sampling methods, measurement items, and statistical analysis, ensuring comparability across different population segments.

ISO 20685-1:2018 that provides protocols for testing and evaluating 3-D scanners used in anthropometry. It focuses on assessing the accuracy of body dimensions derived from 3-D scans, ensuring that these measurements are reliable and compatible for use in international anthropometric databases.

ISO 26800 is a foundational standard that provides a general approach to ergonomics, ensuring that design outcomes are tailored to human needs and capabilities, ultimately leading to improvements in safety, performance, and overall well-being.

ISO 31000:2018 provides guidelines on managing risk faced by organizations. The application of these guidelines can be customized to any organization and its context. It also provides a common approach to managing any type of risk and is not industry or sector specific. It can be used throughout the life of the organization and can be applied to any activity, including decision-making at all levels.

This is a short book for busy people who want to know more about human factors and accident investigation. No prior knowledge of Human Factors is needed. The book will appeal to readers with an interest in safety. All the competencies of Human Factors are covered at a basic level, so the book also serves as an introduction to Human Factors, with the emphasis on safety. Students of human factors may find the book a useful summary of a key growth area of Human Factors. Human Factors professionals wanting to re-focus on safety will also benefit. Safety professionals, engineers, experts in occupational health and safety health, accident investigators and psychologists with no prior training in human factors will benefit.

This book provides a great collection of work design testimonies with transferable lessons across many industry sectors and domains. It discusses physiological and cognitive parameters, teamwork, social aspects, organizational, and broader factors that influence work design initiatives. It is important to learn from practitioner stories and real-world conditions that affect the theoretical applications of work design. Readers will benefit from understanding the struggles and successes of the authors. The chapters cover a wide spectrum of human factors and user needs, including decision making in (ab)normal and safety-critical situations, physical ergonomics, design-in-use modifications, and tailored training. The text examines holistic approaches that lead to improved work methods, worker engagement, and effective system-wide interventions. Ergonomic Insights: Successes and Failures of Work Design is primarily written for professionals and graduate students in the fields of ergonomics, human factors, and occupational health and safety. Educators will also benefit from using these case studies in class lessons.