About this guide
This guide is designed to help you find and use Drama resources available to you in or via the Rhodes Library
Some new Drama books in the library
Theatre studies - Kenneth Pickering and Mark Woolgar
Call Number: 792.07 PIC
An interactive text covering the requirements of undergraduate and diploma courses in theater, drama and performing arts, successfully integrating both practical and theoretical work. The authors draw on considerable experience of contemporary practice and provide fascinating examples of theater at work through text and improvisation.
The Frantic Assembly book of devising theatre - Scott Graham and Steven Hoggett
Call Number: 792.0942 GRA
Acclaimed by audiences and critics for their highly innovative and adventurous theatre, Frantic Assembly have created playful, intelligent and dynamic productions for over fourteen years. Written by artistic directors Scott Graham and Steven Hoggett, The Frantic Assembly Book of Devising Theatre is the first book to reflect on the history and practice of this remarkable company, and includes: practical exercises essays on film, music and physical theatre inspiration for devising, writing and choreographing performance suggestions for scene development, an anthology of Frantic Assembly productions. an eight page colour section, and illustrations throughout.
Theatre & the body - Colette Conroy ; [foreword by Marina Abramovic]
Call Number: 792.028 CON
Bodies are vital elements of theatre production and spectatorship. But the body is not just physical, it is also conceptual. Drawing on many examples from contemporary performance, Theatre & the Body is a provocative starting point for understanding the surprisingly complex relationship between theatre and the body. Concise and clear, this book explores the revealing tensions between the body, bodies, language, representation and movement in the theatre.
Writing dancing together - edited by Valerie A. Briginshaw & Ramsay Burt
Call Number: 792.8 WRI
Drawing heavily on continental philosophy, specifically the works of Bergson, Deleuze, Agamben and Spinoza, amongst others, issues of temporality, corporeality, memory and ethics are explored in depth through the discussion of selected ballets and contemporary dances from the last three centuries, sometimes in conjunction with visual art, theatre, film and music. The essays also engage with cultural studies as issues of gender, sexuality, class and race within the works are investigated.
Worlding dance - edited by Susan Leigh Foster
Call Number: 792.8 WOR
This volume of essays endeavours to make new epistemological space for the analysis of the world's dances. The essays challenge the very foundations upon which the terms 'ethnic' or 'world' dance were created. They examine the exclusionary processes of collection and classification through which the world-building of various dance practices takes place, and as a result, how they acquire relative value and meaning.
Acting professionally : raw facts about careers in acting. 7th edition - Robert Cohen
Call Number: 792.028023 COH
A clear understanding of how acting careers are built and the specific way that actors must position themselves in a professional environment overseen by directors, agents, casting directors and acting unions is essential to all would-be actors. Acting Professionally will steer you through this hugely competitive industry, offering wise advice on everything from writing a successful resume to finding yourself an agent.
Theatre as witness : three testimonial plays from South Africa - by Yael Farber ; foreword by Desmond Tutu ; introduction by Amanda Stuart Fisher ; interview between Amanda Stuart Fisher and Yael Farber
Call Number: 822.92 FAR
These are three testimonial plays from South Africa by the hugely influential and highly acclaimed young playwright Yael Farber. Uniquely, this collection of testimonial plays is based on the lives of the original black South African performers. It includes: A Woman in Waiting, Amajuba: Like Doves We Rise, and He Left Quietly
African theatre. Companies - editor, James Gibbs ; reviews editor, Jane Plastow
Call Number: 792.096 AFR
Profiles theatre companies in Africa that grapple with the issues of 'creativity and collaboration'. This book reveals about the way theatre companies across the continent face the challenges of financial constraints, the political complications of sponsorship and funding, and the need for creative or intellectual freedoms.
At this stage : plays from post-apartheid South Africa - edited by Greg Homann
Call Number: 828.92008 ATT
The four plays in this collection, by Lara Foot Newton, Mike van Graan, Motshabi Tyelele and Craig Higginson, offer insights into an emerging national identity, while in two essays which complement this anthology, theatre director Greg Homann argues that South African theatre and her playwrights have surfaced into a new period, one that signals new themes and challenges.
Physical theatres : a critical introduction - Simon Murray and John Keefe
Call Number: 792.028 MUR
This essential new textbook on physical theatre synthesises history, theory and practice of this field in a useful way for students new to the subject, providing a necessary and fascinating introduction to this broad field of theatre.
Essential acting : a practical handbook for actors, teachers and directors - Brigid Panet ; with Fiona McHardy
Call Number: 792.028 PAN
Essential Acting is an inspired and reliable toolbox for actors and teachers in the classroom, the rehearsal room and the workshop. RADA's Brigid Panet has distilled fifty years of acting, directing and actor training into a unique recipe which brilliantly combines the teachings of Stanislavski and Laban into an invaluable practical resource.
Making a performance : devising histories and contemporary practices - Emma Govan, Helen Nicholson and Katie Normington.
Call Number: Short Loan 792.022 GOV
This study offers clear, practical examples of concepts and ideas that have shaped some of the most vibrant and experimental practices in contemporary performance. It explores how performance-makers have built on the experimental aesthetic traditions of the past.
The necessity of theater : the art of watching and being watched - Paul Woodruff
Call Number: 792.01 WOO
Paul Woodruff has written a provocative call to arms that dares to reconsider the very nature of the theater and convincingly explains why live drama has to be an essential part of contemporary society. Anyone who seriously cares about the future of our theater must read this book.- (Also available online)
The prop master : a guidebook for successful theatrical prop management - Amy Mussman
Call Number: 792.025 MUS
Provides clear definitions of the job in action - how to build a props department, how to create props and how to work with the technical crew, designers, supervisors and performers.
Festivalising! : theatrical events, politics and culture - Temple Hauptfleisch ... [et al.]
Call Number: 792 FES
About festival cultures and the festivalising process
The body eclectic : evolving practices in dance training - Melanie Bales and Rebecca Nettl-Fiol
Call Number: 792.807 BOD
This rich collection of essays and interviews explores modern-dance technique training from the last fifty years and examines choreographic process and style, dancer agency and participation in the creative process, and changes in the role and purpose of training.
Visuality in the theatre : the locus of looking - Maaike Bleeker
Call Number: 792.01 BLE
Visuality in the theater is as yet rarely a subject of theoretical investigation. This book presents an exploration of this under-explored terrain, demonstrating the use of new theoretical insights into vision and visuality for the analysis of theater and performance - and simultaneously shows theater and performance to be an excellent 'theoretical object' for exploring the cultural, historical and embodied character of visuality.
Description
Loading content... please wait


