LibGuides: School of Languages: Databases & e-resources

Databases & e-resources: A-G

Access Global News
News articles from 1972 - current. A fully searchable online resource, Access World News features most major U.S. news sources plus many hard-to-find local and regional titles that are unavailable elsewhere. It also offers more than 9,000 U.S. and international news sources from over 140 countries on six continents.
African Journals Online
African-published research
African Newspapers, 1800 - 1925
Historical newspapers from Africa: explore African history and culture during the 19th and 20th centuries
African Writers Series
For over 40 years, Heinemann's African Writers Series published the key texts of modern African literature. It has a unique importance in the history of postcolonial writing. Fulltext
Aluka
International, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa
Anthrosource
100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public, including: current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications
Apartheid (Global Perspectives), 1946-1996
Translated news broadcasts and publications on the international reaction to apartheid throughout the African continent and from around the world
EBSCOhost Research Databases
A platform which hosts a range of multidisciplinary databases. Select required databases before searching.
Gale Literary Sources
A combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features that breathe new life into the study of literature.

ProQuest Ebooks and Dissertations & Theses

Proquest Ebook Central
Provides access to over 150 000 authoritative ebooks.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
An online database that indexes, abstracts, and provides full-text access to dissertations and theses. It includes over 2.4 million records and covers 1637 to the present.

Databases & e-resources: G-R

GoogleScholar
Multidisciplinary content. The academic content of Google. Use in conjuction with Scopus and ISI Web of Science
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary content. Archived to first issues. Current issues embargoed.
Oxford English Dictionary
covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean.
Oxford Reference
Range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date &cross-searchable dictionary, language reference & subject reference works published by OUP, Detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the Oxford Companions series
Oxford Scholarship Online
Full-text access to academic OUP monographs from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences & science.
Sabinet databases
SA information: journal articles, news clipping, government publications, SA theses information
Scopus
Highly recommended: Multidisciplinary journal articles
World Newspaper Archive: Africa 1800 - 1922 via Readex
19th & 20th cent. African papers: Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda &Zimbabwe.
Web of Science
A curated collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines.

Newspapers and Magazines online

PressReader
Connecting people to news.
Provides unlimited access to 6,000+ newspapers and magazines from around the world.Register for a free account on PressReader. Doing so will give you the full functionality of the platform (email alerts, complete personalization of the platform and everything synchronized across all devices with the same username and password)

BrowZine Journal Lookup

Subscribed journals by publisher deal

Off-campus users (staff and students) should note that they will be prompted for a staff/student barcode and PIN in order to access the library resources.

If you do not have access please register here for your "My Library account" - note that you must select your own PIN & that you must be registered for the current year as a Library user

Please find the 'How To' guide here

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery
American Chemical Society journals This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Journals This link opens in a new window
Elsevier (via ScienceDirect) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Royal Society of Chemistry This link opens in a new window
The Royal Society of Chemistry publishes 44 peer-reviewed journals, more than 1,500 print books and a collection of online databases and literature updating services. Their international publishing portfolio covers the core chemical sciences including related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics. Subscription includes access to the Archives 1841-2004.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Springerlink This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis online This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window