LibGuides: Chemistry: Getting interested

2023 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Moungi G. Bawendi

Born: 1961, Paris, France

Affiliation at the time of the award: Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, MA, USA

Prize motivation: “for the discovery and synthesis of quantum dots”

Prize share: 1/3

Louis E. Brus
Born: 1943, Cleveland, OH, USA

Affiliation at the time of the award: Columbia University, New York, NY, USA

Prize motivation: “for the discovery and synthesis of quantum dots”

Prize share: 1/3

Aleksey Yekimov
Born: 1945, Leningrad, USSR (now St. Petersburg, Russia)

Affiliation at the time of the award: Nanocrystals Technology Inc., New York, NY, USA

Prize motivation: “for the discovery and synthesis of quantum dots”

Prize share: 1/3

2023 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Katalin Karikó
Born: 17 January 1955, Szolnok, Hungary

Affiliation at the time of the award: Szeged University, Szeged, Hungary; University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, USA

Prize motivation: “for their discoveries concerning nucleoside base modifications that enabled the development of effective mRNA vaccines against COVID-19”

Prize share: 1/2

Drew Weissman
Born: 7 September 1959, Lexington, MA, USA

Affiliation at the time of the award: Penn Institute for RNA Innovations, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, USA

Prize motivation: “for their discoveries concerning nucleoside base modifications that enabled the development of effective mRNA vaccines against COVID-19”

Prize share: 1/2

Recently-arrived books

[Print] The Networking of Chaperones by Co-Chaperones by Adrienne L. Edkins (Editor); Gregory L. Blatch (Editor)
Call Number: 574.19245 NET
ISBN: 9783031147395
Publication Date: 2022-12-16
Co-chaperones are important mediators of the outcome of chaperone assisted protein homeostasis, which is the dynamic integration of the processes of protein folding, degradation and translocation to ensure that cellular function is finely tuned in space and time. This third edition of the book The Networking of Chaperones by Co-chaperones describes how the function of the major molecular chaperones is regulated by co-chaperones, a diverse cohort of non-client proteins. Since the second edition was released, not only has knowledge deepened on how co-chaperones act as nodes to network and functionalise chaperones, but an understanding of their broader biological function has started to emerge.
[Print] Chemical Misconceptions by Keith Taber; Maria J. Pack (Other)
Call Number: 540.712 TAB v. 1
ISBN: 9780854043866
Publication Date: 2002-04-04
Chemistry is a conceptual subject and, in order to explain many of these concepts, models are needed to describe and explain the microscopic world and relate it to the macroscopic properties of matter. Research has shown that as students progress in chemistry, the models they experience change and many contradict students' specific everyday experiences and use of language. Students' alternative conceptions in chemistry should be taken seriously. This publication has been designed to help tackle the issue in the classroom. In this resource you will find.
[Print] Drugs in use by Linda J. Dodds, Kay M. G. Wood.
Call Number: 615.1 DRU
ISBN: 9780857114181
Publication Date: 2021
Drugs in Use: Case Studies for Pharmacists and Prescribers helps you to bridge the gap between theoretical knowledge about medicines and the practical application to your patients. The sixth edition of this popular text has been extensively revised to ensure that a primary care focus is included whenever possible, in order to reflect the fact that drug management of chronic conditions increasingly takes place in primary care, and that this is an expanding role for pharmacists working in GP surgeries. There are new chapters on atrial fibrillation, chronic asthma, general surgery, sepsis, deprescribing and supporting adherence.
[Print] Laboratory Safety for Chemistry Students by Robert H. Hill; David C. Finster; Robert H. Hill
Call Number: 542.0289 HIL
ISBN: 9781119027669
Publication Date: 2016-05-02
Provides knowledge and models of good practice needed by students to work safely in the laboratory as they progress through four years of undergraduate laboratory work
Aligns with the revised safety instruction requirements from the ACS Committee on Professional Training 2015 “Guidelines and Evaluation Procedures for Bachelor’s Degree Programs”
Provides a systematic approach to incorporating safety and health into the chemistry curriculum
Topics are divided into layers of progressively more advanced and appropriate safety issues so that some topics are covered 2-3 times, at increasing levels of depth
[eBook] Porphyrin Science by Women by Fabienne Dumoulin (Acıbadem Mehmet Ali Aydınlar University, Turkey), Tebello Nyokong (Rhodes University, South Africa) and Penelope J Brothers (Australian National University, Australia)
Publication Date: 2019
This is a reprint three volume set with a thematic organization of the articles of the four Women in Porphyrin Science special issues published in the Journal of Porphyrins and Phthalocyanines in 2019. All the articles were carefully arranged by the volume editors and Karl Kadish, the Journal of Porphyrins and Phthalocyanines Editor-in-Chief, in order to provide a comprehensive coverage of each topic. Volume 1 covers the biomedical aspects, applications and uses of BODIPY's, porphyrins, phthalocyanines and related derivatives, mainly for photodynamic therapy. Volume 2 covers the synthesis, characteristics and properties of these compounds, while Volume 3 is on topics related to materials, sensors, energy and catalysis. These state-of-the-art articles are contributed by women. This book will strongly contribute to the visibility of women in the field of porphyrin science.
[eBook] Studying Science: Knowledge, Language, Pedagogy by Karl Maton (Editor)
ISBN: 9780815355755
Publication Date: 2019-02-08
Science has never been more important, yet science education faces serious challenges. At present, science education research only sees half the picture, focusing on how students learn and their changing conceptions. Both teaching practice and what is taught, science knowledge itself, are missing. This book offers new, interdisciplinary ways of thinking about science teaching that foreground the forms taken by science knowledge and the language, imagery and gesture through which they are expressed. This book brings together leading international scholars from Systemic Functional Linguistics, a long-established approach to language, and Legitimation Code Theory, a rapidly growing sociological approach to knowledge practices. It explores how to bring knowledge, language and pedagogy back into the picture of science education but also offers radical innovations that will shape future research.
[eBook] Re-Imagining University Assessment in a Digital World by Margaret Bearman (Editor); Phillip Dawson (Editor); Rola Ajjawi (Editor); Joanna Tai (Editor); David Boud (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030419554
Publication Date: 2020-07-14
This book is the first to explore the big question of how assessment can be refreshed and redesigned in an evolving digital landscape. There are many exciting possibilities for assessments that contribute dynamically to learning. However, the interface between assessment and technology is limited. Often, assessment designers do not take advantage of digital opportunities. Equally, digital innovators sometimes draw from models of higher education assessment that are no longer best practice.
[eBook] The PhD at the End of the World by Robyn Barnacle (Editor); Denise Cuthbert (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030622183
Publication Date: 2021-03-03
This book addresses a world-wide audience with reference to a global problem: how the PhD can serve the planet. It examines the role of the PhD, in and of itself, and, as representative of research, the university and evidence-based knowledge, in relation to global crisis and the future of humanity. As such, it speaks to the scholar, the teacher, the policy-maker and the administrator concerned with the role of higher education's highest award at a time of great global crisis.
[eBook] The a-Z of the PhD Trajectory by Eva O. L. Lantsoght
ISBN: 9783319774244
Publication Date: 2018-06-05
This textbook is a guide to success during the PhD trajectory. The first part of this book takes the reader through all steps of the PhD trajectory, and the second part contains a unique glossary of terms and explanation relevant for PhD candidates. Written in the accessible language of the PhD Talk blogs, the book contains a great deal of practical advice for carrying out research, and presenting one's work. It includes tips and advice from current and former PhD candidates, thus representing a broad range of opinions. The book includes exercises that help PhD candidates get their work kick-started.
[eBook] Writing for Publication by Mary Renck Jalongo; Olivia N. Saracho
ISBN: 9783319316482
Publication Date: 2016-06-02
This book offers systematic instruction and evidence-based guidance to academic authors. It demystifies scholarly writing and helps build both confidence and skill in aspiring and experienced authors. The first part of the book focuses on the author's role, writing's risks and rewards, practical strategies for improving writing, and ethical issues. Part Two focuses on the most common writing tasks: conference proposals, practical articles, research articles, and books. Each chapter is replete with specific examples, templates to generate a first draft, and checklists or rubrics for self-evaluation.
[eBook] Basic Concepts in Medicinal Chemistry by Marc W. Harrold; Robin M. Zavod; American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 158528601X
Publication Date: 2018-03-01
Basic Concepts of Medicinal Chemistry, 2nd Edition This updated and expanded edition of the popular textbook, Basic Concepts in Medicinal Chemistry, has been enhanced with new subject material, numerous self-assessment tools and special features to advance and strengthen the learning process. Designed to help students incrementally build their knowledge of fundamental concepts of medicinal chemistry and their applications to therapeutic decisions, it is progressively organized.
[Print] It's Just Math by Marcy H. Towns (Editor); Kinsey Bain (Editor); Jon-Marc G. Rodriguez (Editor)
Call Number: 540.151 ITS
ISBN: 9780841234352
Publication Date: 2020-06-01
At the interface between chemistry and mathematics, this book brings together research on the use mathematics in the context of undergraduate chemistry courses. These university-level studies also support national efforts expressed in the Next Generation Science Standards regarding the importance of skills, such as quantitative reasoning and interpreting data. Curated by award-winning leaders in the field, this book is useful for instructors in chemistry, mathematics, and physics at the secondary and university levels.
[eBook] Heterocyclic Chemistry in Drug Discovery by Jie Jack Li (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118354421
Publication Date: 2013-04-16
Enables researchers to fully realize the potential to discover new pharmaceuticals among heterocyclic compounds Integrating heterocyclic chemistry and drug discovery, this innovative text enables readers to understand how and why these two fields go hand in hand in the effective practice of medicinal chemistry.
[eBook] Prescott's Microbiology by Joanne Willey; Linda Sherwood; Christopher J. Woolverton
ISBN: 9781259281594
Publication Date: 2016-01-04
The author team of Prescott's Microbiology continues the tradition of past editions by providing a balanced comprehensive introduction to all major areas of microbiology. This balance makes Microbiology appropriate for microbiology majors and mixed majors courses. The authors have introduced a number of pedagogical elements designed to facilitate student learning. They also remain focused on readability artwork and the integration of several key themes (including evolution ecology and diversity) throughout the text making an already superior text even better.
[Print] A Biologist's Guide to Mathematical Modeling in Ecology and Evolution by Sarah P. Otto; Troy Day
Call Number: 574.50724 OTT
ISBN: 9780691123448
Publication Date: 2007-03-12
The book starts at an elementary level of mathematical modeling, assuming that the reader has had high school mathematics and first-year calculus. Otto and Day then gradually build in depth and complexity, from classic models in ecology and evolution to more intricate class-structured and probabilistic models. The authors provide primers with instructive exercises to introduce readers to the more advanced subjects of linear algebra and probability theory. Through examples, they describe how models have been used to understand such topics as the spread of HIV, chaos, the age structure of a country, speciation, and extinction.
[eBook] Make It Stick by Peter C. Brown; Henry L. Roediger; Mark A. McDaniel
ISBN: 9780674729018
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
Drawing on cognitive psychology and other fields, Make It Stick offers techniques for becoming more productive learners, and cautions against study habits and practice routines that turn out to be counterproductive. The book speaks to students, teachers, trainers, athletes, and all those interested in lifelong learning and self-improvement.
[Print] How to get a PhD: a handbook for students and their supervisors by Estelle M. Phillips, Derek S. Pugh; with contributions from Colin G. Johnson
Call Number: 378.24 PHI
ISBN: 9780335264124
Publication Date: 2015
Since the first edition of this innovative book, thousands of doctoral students have gained their doctorates by following the spot-on advice it gives. Across all faculties and disciplines, it remains the book of choice for both students and their supervisors, establishing it as a worldwide bestseller.

This practical book guides students through all they need to know to approach the research, write and defend their ideas and ultimately produce a unique and robust academic thesis. It also gives supervisors and examiners invaluable tips on their role in the process.
[Print] The Pleasure of Research by Henk Slager (Text by)
Call Number: 700.72 SLA
ISBN: 9783775739764
Publication Date: 2015-08-25
The Pleasure of Research delves into topics such as knowledge production, artistic thinking and medium-specificity. The publication begins with a series of curatorial projects by Henk Slager at international art festivals and biennales in such cities as Seoul, Shanghai, New York, Venice, Tbilisi, Istanbul and Taipei.
[eBook] Transforming university education: a manifesto by Ashwin, Paul
ISBN: 1350157260
Publication Date: 2020
What is a university degree for? What can it offer to students? Is it only about getting a job? How can we measure the quality of an undergraduate degree?

Paul Ashwin shows how, around the world, economic arguments have come to dominate our thinking about the purpose and nature of university education. He argues that we have lost a sense of the educational purposes of an undergraduate degree and the ways in which going to university can transform students' lives.