LibGuides: Political & International Studies: Finding books & reference sources

Printed reference books

The Mail & Guardian A-Z of South African Politics by Tabane, Rapule & Ludman, Barbara
Call Number: Ref 320.968 MAI
An entertaining, under-the-skin look at the movers and shakers of 21st-century South Africa, 120 profiles of individuals.
Encyclopedia of government and politics by Mary Hawkesworth & Maurice Kogan
Call Number: Ref 320.03 ENC
Penetrating analysis of government and politics at a global, regional and nationstate level
Encyclopedia of international relations and global politics by Martin Griffiths
Source for students and academics covering all aspects of global international relations and the contemporary discipline across IR's major subject divisions of diplomacy, military affairs, international political economy and theory

Online reference sources

Encyclopedia of Anthropology This link opens in a new window
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
From Elsevier
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics This link opens in a new window
This new edition retains the inspiring tradition of bringing together the world's most influential economists writing in their own voice on their areas of expertise, but in its online incarnation it has married this tradition with the benefits of a dynamic, updated resource serving the information needs of a new generation of economists.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
core collection of titles includes a broad selection of over 100 dictionary and reference titles across the subject spectrum

Explore e-books

E-Books - Rhodes Library Guide This link opens in a new window

Where in the library are the political studies books

Rhodes Library uses a system known as Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) to arrange its books on the shelves. As a result, all books that cover the same subject will be shelved together under the assigned number. Political Studies books are found basically between the numbers 320 - 329.

They are housed in the Humanities and Education level 3 of the Main Library. The prescribed books are kept in Short Loans Department on level 1 of the Main Library.

Basic shelf numbers for Political Studies books:

321 Systems of governments and states
322 Relation of the state to organized groups and their members
323 Civil and political rights
324 The political process
325 International migration and coloniztion
326 Slavery and emancipation
327 International relations
328 The legislative process

Political & International Studies: Finding books & reference sources

Search All

Search the catalogue, articles, journals, books, media and more

Printed reference books

Online reference sources

Explore e-books

Where in the library are the political studies books