LibGuides: Geology: Getting interested

Volcanic formation: Plumes or not?

Visit this site for masses more information!

Geology News

South African geologists of note

Andrew Geddes Bain This link opens in a new window
Bain prepared in 1852 the first comprehensive geological map of South Africa, a work of great merit, which was published by the Geological Society of London in 1856
Alexander du Toit This link opens in a new window
An early supporter of Alfred Wegener's theory of continental drift. A Geological Comparison of South America with South Africa (1927). His best-known publication, Our Wandering Continents (1937), expanded and improved this work, and, departing somewhat from Wegener, proposed two original supercontinents separated by the Tethys Ocean, a northern/equatorial Laurasia and a southern/polar Gondwanaland.
Hans Merensky This link opens in a new window
In 1924 he followed up the discovery of alluvial platinum by A F Lombard on his farm in Lydenburg and discovered its source in the Bushveld Igneous Complex which set him on the road to financial recovery. This deposit came eventually to be known as the Merensky Reef, which contains 75 per cent of the world's known platinum resources

Alfred Wegener

Best known for his version of the theory of continental drift. In Die Entstehung der Kontinente und Ozeane, published in 1915 (first English language edition: The Origin of Continents and Oceans, 1922) .

Wegener, Alfred (1880–1930) A German meteorologist and physicist This link opens in a new window
Alfred Lothar Wegener (November 1, 1880 – November 1930) This link opens in a new window
The origin of continents and oceans / by Wegener (translated from the 4th revised German ed. by John Biram) This link opens in a new window
This is in the RU Library

Reference sources

Encyclopedia of Quaternary studies This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
core collection of titles includes a broad selection of over 100 dictionary and reference titles across the subject spectrum
Virtual Atlas of Opaque and Ore Minerals in their Associations This link opens in a new window

Recently-arrived books

[Print] Using Geochemical Data by Hugh Rollinson; Victoria Pease
Call Number: 551.9 ROL
ISBN: 9781108745840
Publication Date: 2021-05-06
This textbook is a complete rewrite, and expansion of Hugh Rollinson's highly successful 1993 book Using Geochemical Data: Evaluation, Presentation, Interpretation. Rollinson and Pease's new book covers the explosion in geochemical thinking over the past three decades, as new instruments and techniques have come online. It provides a comprehensive overview of how modern geochemical data are used in the understanding of geological and petrological processes. It covers major element, trace element, and radiogenic and stable isotope geochemistry. It explains the potential of many geochemical techniques, provides examples of their application, and emphasizes how to interpret the resulting data.
[eBook] Teaching Science by Karl Maton (Editor); J. R. Martin (Editor); Y. J. Doran (Editor)
ISBN: 9781351129268
Publication Date: 2021-04-25
Science has never been more important, yet science education faces serious challenges. At present, science education research only sees half the picture, focusing on how students learn and their changing conceptions. Both teaching practice and what is taught, science knowledge itself, are missing. This book offers new, interdisciplinary ways of thinking about science teaching that foreground the forms taken by science knowledge and the language, imagery and gesture through which they are expressed. This book brings together leading international scholars from Systemic Functional Linguistics, a long-established approach to language, and Legitimation Code Theory, a rapidly growing sociological approach to knowledge practices.
[Print] A Biologist's Guide to Mathematical Modeling in Ecology and Evolution by Sarah P. Otto; Troy Day
Call Number: 574.50724 OTT
ISBN: 9780691123448
Publication Date: 2007-03-12
The book starts at an elementary level of mathematical modeling, assuming that the reader has had high school mathematics and first-year calculus. Otto and Day then gradually build in depth and complexity, from classic models in ecology and evolution to more intricate class-structured and probabilistic models. The authors provide primers with instructive exercises to introduce readers to the more advanced subjects of linear algebra and probability theory. Through examples, they describe how models have been used to understand such topics as the spread of HIV, chaos, the age structure of a country, speciation, and extinction.
[Print] How to get a PhD: a handbook for students and their supervisors by Estelle M. Phillips, Derek S. Pugh; with contributions from Colin G. Johnson
Call Number: 378.24 PHI
ISBN: 9780335264124
Publication Date: 2015
Since the first edition of this innovative book, thousands of doctoral students have gained their doctorates by following the spot-on advice it gives. Across all faculties and disciplines, it remains the book of choice for both students and their supervisors, establishing it as a worldwide bestseller.

This practical book guides students through all they need to know to approach the research, write and defend their ideas and ultimately produce a unique and robust academic thesis. It also gives supervisors and examiners invaluable tips on their role in the process.
[Print] The Pleasure of Research by Henk Slager (Text by)
Call Number: 700.72 SLA
ISBN: 9783775739764
Publication Date: 2015-08-25
The Pleasure of Research delves into topics such as knowledge production, artistic thinking and medium-specificity. The publication begins with a series of curatorial projects by Henk Slager at international art festivals and biennales in such cities as Seoul, Shanghai, New York, Venice, Tbilisi, Istanbul and Taipei.
[eBook] Transforming university education: a manifesto by Ashwin, Paul
ISBN: 1350157260
Publication Date: 2020
What is a university degree for? What can it offer to students? Is it only about getting a job? How can we measure the quality of an undergraduate degree?

Paul Ashwin shows how, around the world, economic arguments have come to dominate our thinking about the purpose and nature of university education. He argues that we have lost a sense of the educational purposes of an undergraduate degree and the ways in which going to university can transform students' lives.

Charles Lyell

Sir Charles Lyell, 1st Baronet, Kt FRS (14 November 1797 – 22 February 1875) was a British lawyer and the foremost geologist of his day. He is best known as the author of Principles of Geology, which popularised James Hutton's concepts of uniformitarianism – the idea that the earth was shaped by the same processes still in operation today. Lyell was a close and influential friend of Charles Darwin.

Charles Lyell (1797–1875), originator of the doctrine of uniformitarianism in geology. This link opens in a new window
Lyell, Sir Charles, first baronet (1797–1875), geologist This link opens in a new window
Books by Charles Lyell This link opens in a new window
From Internet Archive - full text of books

SA to host ‘world cup’ of geosciences in 2016

See report in Mining Weekly This link opens in a new window
South Africa is readying itself to host the “world cup” of geosciences – the thirty-fifth International Geological Congress (IGC) – in 2016, local organising committee chairperson and IGC joint president Professor Richard Viljoen reported.
35th International Geological Congress website This link opens in a new window

Subject Guide

Thandiwe Menze

She! Her! Hers!

Email Me

Contact:

Rhodes University, Main Library Building, Level 2: Science & Pharmacy, Artillery Road, Grahamstown, 6139.

+27 46 6038689

Geology: Getting interested

Proquest Central Geology ebooks