LibGuides: Business School: Find journal articles &amp; data using databases

Searching the RUL Databases

Please Watch these Library Tutorials to assist your searching.

Databases

The Databases listed on the Business School Subject Guide have been specifically selected for Business School Researchers and allow you to find, view and obtain journal articles that are available electronically.

Articles of interest can be printed out, downloaded, e-mailed, or the citation/abstract exported to your personal RefWorks database.

You may also find citations/abstracts of relevant articles which will have to be sourced elsewhere if they are not available electronically on the particular database that you are searching. If Rhodes library does not subscribe to the journal, PostGraduate Students and Staff may ask the Interlibrary Loans Department to obtain the article from another library.

Key Business School Databases & e-resources

Off-campus users (staff and students) should note that they will be prompted for a staff/student barcode and PIN in order to access the library resources.

If you do not have access please register here for your "My Library account"

You must select your own PIN & you must be registered for the current year as a Library user

EBSCOhost Research Databases
Multidisciplinary content.

Select required databases

EBSCOhost video: Advanced Search Tutorial

EBSCOhost: Improving your Search Results

EBSCOhost: Help

Emerald Insight
Accounting & Finance, Business, Economics, HR & Organizational Behaviour, Information Systems & Knowledge Management, Library & Information Science, Management Science & Operations, Marketing, Strategy, Tourism & Hospitality & more

Emerald Insight: how do I search for content

Your guide to getting the best from Emerald insight

Sabinet Discover
Sabinet Discover - Your ULTIMATE research, news and legal resource platform replaces both the old Sabinet Legal and Sabinet Reference platforms.

Sabinet Discover: how to navigate and search

Sabinet Discover: user guide

myDiscover: user guide

GoogleScholar
Multidisciplinary content. The academic content of Google. Use in conjuction with Scopus and ISI Web of Science

GoogleScholar: Access Database Help

Oxford Scholarship Online
Full-text access to academic OUP monographs from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences & science.

Oxford Scholarship Online: Take a Tour

IRESS SA, previously known as INET BFA
IRESS is the pre-eminent provider of stock market, fundamental research data and news to the Financial sector and the corporate market at large.
This resource is accessible on-campus without the use of third-party applications. In order to access IRESS from off-campus, please ensure that you have VPN installed and configured on your computer. For information on configuring Rhodes VPN, please see the student networking manuals as made available by I&TS. For Windows10 the following is required: https://www.ru.ac.za/studentnetworking/config/moreusefulguides/vpnforwindows10/
To access the IRESS Expert section, please contact the Commerce Library Faculty Librarian on Level 3 (Tel: 046 6037339) Please Note: LOG OUT AFTER YOUR SESSION ON EXPERT, IN ORDER TO ALLOW OTHER USERS TO LOGIN.

IRESS: Getting Started

IRESS: How to search for Information

LSEG Workspace (formerly known as LSEG REFINITIV EIKON /THOMSON REUTERS DATASTREAM)
LSEG Workspace is a set of software products provided by LSEG for financial professionals to monitor and analyze financial information. It provides access to real time market data, news, fundamental data, analytics, trading and messaging tools.
ACCESS IS ON CAMPUS ONLY, DURING OFFICE HOURS, AND ONLY AT DEDICATED COMPUTER WORKSTATIONS IN THE RHODES UNIVERSITY LIBRARY. ACCESS IS ON CAMPUS ONLY, DURING OFFICE HOURS, AND ONLY AT DEDICATED COMPUTER WORKSTATIONS IN THE RHODES UNIVERSITY LIBRARY. CONTACT THE COMMERCE LIBRARIAN FOR ACCESS, AND TO BOOK A COMPUTER: Sue Rionda (s.rionda@ru.ac.za).

LSEG Workspace Learning Centre

Useful Multidisciplinary Databases & e-resources

Scopus
Highly recommended: Multidisciplinary journal articles
As SAML authentication is now used to access the Scopus database, please take note of the Sign In Process (SEE BELOW: Scopus Access Information - Nov 2021)

Scopus Video Tutorials

ScopusTraining Materials & Webinars

Web of Science
Web of Science is a citation index for scientific and scholarly research. It is a curated collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.

Web of Science Tutorials

To learn more about how to use the Web of Science and Scopus Databases for Research Evaluation see the Citation Analysis & Research Impact LibGuide