English: Finding books & reference sources

Emily Dickinson’s Ravished Slates is a scholarly exploration of a group of forty late drafts and fragments hitherto known as the “Lord Letters.” At the center and heart of this site (Exhibit 4: Ravished Slates) are digital surrogates of the documents accompanied by my own early (1995) diplomatic transcriptions of them

EAL invites work treating Native American traditional expressions, colonial Ibero-American literature from North America, colonial American Francophone writings, Dutch colonial, and German American colonial literature as well as writings in English from British America and the US.

This collection of eighteenth century books contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800 – 135,000 printed works comprising more than 26 million scanned facsimile pages. While the majority of works in ECCO are in the English language, researchers will also discover a rich vein of works printed in Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish and Welsh.

The Medieval and Early Modern Manuscripts Collection contains 215 medieval or Renaissance manuscripts that date between the 11th and 17th centuries. This database contains item-level descriptions for each of the manuscripts and enables keyword searching as well as several different ways to browse the collection contents.

The Modernist Journals Project is a major resource for the study of modernism in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature as its central concern

As part of the Bible Study Tools Study Library, Nave's Topical Bible is linked to Baker's Evangelical Dictionary, Easton's Bible Dictionary, Hitchcock's Bible Names, Smith's Bible Dictionary, and Torrey's Topical Textbook . Anytime a reference can be found in any of the other online tools a hyperlinked symbol will be placed next to the reference, allowing you to immediately jump to that resource and expand your study capabilities.

Persuasions: The Jane Austen Journal On-Line (ISSN 1559-7520) is the electronic journal of JASNA. It is published each December 16 and made freely accessible as part of JASNA’s outreach mission. All prior numbers will be maintained here indefinitely.

Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net currently offers 789 articles and reviews in open access in a trilingual interface via the Erudit publishing platform.

A Bible concordance is an alphabetical listings of words and phrases found in the Holy Bible and shows where the terms occur throughout all books of Scripture. With cross-references for verses, concordances make it easy to understand the meaning of terms and the context in which those words are used. Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance is the most widely known and popular and includes Greek and Hebrew dictionaries for a better understanding of the original meaning. Additional concordances such as Naves Topical and Torreys Topical are valuable Bible study resources.

Provides image and full-text online access to back issues. Consult the online table of contents for specific holdings.

For generations, the Treasury of Scripture Knowledge has been an enduring cross-reference resource for Bible students worldwide. This highly respected and nearly exhaustive compilation of cross-references was developed by R.A. Torrey from references in the Rev. Thomas Scott's Commentary and the Comprehensive Bible. With nearly 500,000 cross-references it is the most thorough source available.

Treasury of Scripture Knowledge is in the public domain and may be freely used and distributed.

For more than half a century, James D. Hart's The Oxford Companion to American Literature has been an unparalleled guide to America's literary culture, providing one of the finest resources to this country's rich history of great writers.

This is a unique new reference book to English-language writers and writing throughout the present century, in all major genres and from all around the world - from Joseph Conrad to Will Self, Virginia Woolf to David Mamet, Ezra Pound to Peter Carey, James Joyce to Amy Tan