History: Referencing

History students at Rhodes University use the Oxford referencing style, with additional footnotes

List references in alphabetical order in the Bibliography at the end of the essay

All Examples of reference types as detailed in the History Department Handbook

See the link below for more information about Oxford Referencing style

https://www.citethisforme.com/citation-generator/oxford-referencing-generator#:~:text=The%20Oxford%20referencing%20style%20is,the%20end%20of%20the%20document.

Examples:

Initials  or  first  name and surname  of  author, full title  of the book  [italicised  or

underlined], city and year of publication (in brackets) :

e.g.    J. Pampallis,Foundations of the New South Africa (London, 1991). or             Karen Jochelson, The Colour of Disease (New York, 2001) .

If you have used a chapter/essay from an edited collection you need to list both the individual chapter and the edited collection in which it a'ppeared.

The name of the chapter/essay title should appear in Inverted commas and the full title of the edited collection as per the format for books :

e.g. A . Proctor, "Class Struggle, Segregation and the City :A History of Sophiatown,

1905-1940", in B. Bozzoli (ed.), Labour, Townships and Protest (Johannesburg,

1979).

The edited collection should also appear at the appropriate place In the bibliography, as per usual:

i.e. B.Bozzoli (ed.),Labour, Townships and Protest (Johannesburg, 1979).

Initials or first name and surname of author, full title of the article (in inverted commas), title of journal (italicised or underlined),volume , number, and year of the journal:

e.g. Tere nce Moll,"Did the Apartheid Economy Fall?", Journal of Southern African

Studies, 17,2, 1991, 91-119.

or     Terence Moll, "Did the Apartheid Economy Fail?", Journal of Southern African Studies, 17,2, 1991, 91-119.

If you have used an academic journal in an electronic format you need to indicate that you used the electronic and not the printed version. Always try to use an electronic version with page numbers to make footnoting easier.

You also need to indicate which database you used to access the journal (in brackets), adding the full database URL is optional:

e.g. S. Benatar, "Health Care Reform and the Crisis of HIV and AIDS in South Africa", The New England Journal of Medicine, 351, 1, 2004 (accessed using EBSCOhost).

Internet sites must be appropriately acknowledged in the same way as printed ones. The name of the site and the full URL must be included. Cutting and pasting an URL without any additional information about the website is not accepta ble:

e.g. ZNet at http://www.zmag.org/weluser.htm

South African History Online (SAHO) at http://www.sahistory.org.za/

Some academic journals may only be available online in electronic format. These must

be acknowledged using the academic journal format, but the full URL must be cited:

e.g. G.Baines, "The rainbow nation? Identity and nation-building in post-apartheid

South Africa", Mots Pluriels, No.7 (July, 1998) at

http://www .arts.uwa.edu.au/MotsPiur iels/MP798gb.html

List all newspapers and newspaper articles that you have read. Include the name of the author, the name of the newspa per (in italics or underlined) and the exact date (day-month-year):

e.g. George Monbiot, "Sleepwalking to Extinction ", Mail and Guardian, 15 July

2004.

or     Unknown author, "Slavery Should Not be Abolished in Grahamstown",

Graham's Town Journal, 1September 1828 (Cory library).

When using material from an archive (such as the Cory library) you should acknowledge the archive and use the referencing system employed by them. (This also facilitates other  researchers  using the material.)

If you use material from several archives standard practice is to put the name of the

archive as  a heading then  list all the sources used  alphabetically  by reference  (this

applies mostly to post-graduate work).

Whichever system you choose to use, be consistent :

e.g.  Sophia  Pigot,  Personal  Diary, January-December  1838, Doc.779  Pig, Cory Library, Rhodes University, Grahamstown, South Africa.

or     Cory   Ubrary,  Rhodes   University,  Grahamstown,   South   Africa.   MS  786

Lovedale Institution Records.

MS 7277 South African Teachers Association .

PR 3682 B 2695 Correspondence of R. Shepherd 1888-1970.

Only put primary sources/archiva l material that you yourself have used in your bibliography.

These are academic works that have not been published as books or journals, and include theses or papers delivered at conferences. Unpublished material can also refer to pamphlets or manuscripts that have not been published.

Unpublished works are listed in a similar manner to published works and must include the name of the author, the title and the year produced and the type of work:

e.g. C. Kros, 'Economic, Political and Intellectual Origins of Bantu Education 1926B51', PhD Thesis, University of the Witwatersrand, 1997.

or                    C. Tsampira s, 'Challenging Legacies: Gender, Violence and Slavery in Graaf-Reinet (1830-1834)' paper presented at Eastern Cape: Historical Legacies and New Challenges Conference, East London, South Africa, 27-30 August  2003.

Interviews with informants should be listed alphabetically and must indicate the name of the informant, the place the interview was held and the date: ·

e.g. J. Njokweni (Healdtown, Eastern Cape,South Africa, 18 January 2000) .

Sr.Josefilia (Mariannhill, KZN, South Africa, 27 June 1998).

When referring to films, videos and DVDs make sure that you indicate:

the title (consistently either italicised or underlined);

the name of the director;

the name of the studio OR production company OR distributor of the film;

if necessary indicate the version, release or other distinguishing feature of the film (e.g.if you are using a special edition or director's cut version of the film) the format in which you watched the film, video or DVD;

the release dates (both the original and the version you use);

if you refer to a specific scene or dialogue, you may also refer to the specific

time it occurs in the film (this is optional but easier to reference when using aOVD or video with a timer):

e.g.  The Hours, Dir. Stephen Daldry, (DVD, Paramount, 2002, DVD release

December 2003); 01:27:59.

e.g.   Citizen Kane, Dir. Orson Welles (Film, RKO Radio Pictures, 1941).

e.g.  A Bout de Souffle (Breathless), Dir. Jean-Luc Godard (Videocassette, Prod. Georges de Beauregard,1960; Dist. Connoisseur Video Collection, 1989).

e.g. Apocalypse Now - The Complete Dossier,  Dir. Francis Ford Coppola (DVD, Two-Disc Special Collector's Edition, Paramount, 1979, DVD release August 2006).

While you obviously  do not need to footnote  every sentence that you write, you should use footnotes in these circumstances :

Whenever you use an exact quotation, paraphrased material or statistical data from a source.

Whenever you refer to unusual information.

Whenever you refer to an interesting idea that is not your own.

Whenever you wish to add additional information that is not directly relevant

to the argument you are making but adds to an understanding of the subject.

Your first footnote entry for any source will usually look like the listing you would use in your bibliography except that you must include page numbers. Remember that titles and non-English terms must be italicised or underlined.

Subsequent use of the source can be footnoted with an abbreviated version of the original (as indicated below).

Write out in full the reference to a book or article, setting down all the details that one would include in a bibliographical entry (as above), with the addition of the page number:

e.g.     x. John  Pampallis,  Foundations  of   the  New  South  Africa  (London,  1991), p.124.

or                   2' Terence  Moll "Did the Apartheid Economy Fail?", Journal  of Southern African Studies, 17, 2, 1991, p.120.

For all subsequent references to the same work,you only write down the author's surname (without initials), an abbreviated title of the book (italicised or underlined) or article (inverted commas), and the page number :

e.g. 3' Pampallis,Foundations, p.127.

or     4' Moll, "Apartheid Economy", p.262.

If you are footnoting an oral interview you need to indicate who the informant and interviewer were:

e.g. s.Rev. Dludla,interview with author, Durban,KZN, 16 June 1998.

Only footnote primary sources/arc hival material that you yourself have used. If you are quoting a primary source or archive material that has been used by another academic, you should cite that academic's work  and not the primary or archive sources.

If two or more consecutive footnotes are drawn from the same source, the second footnote (and all other consecutive ones) can simply include the word Ibid (an abbreviation of ibidem meaning 'in the same place'):