LibGuides: Law Library: Finding e-books, books &amp; reference sources

Explore Ebooks using EBSCO eBooks

Home - Ebooks at Alverno - LibGuides at Alverno College

Access EBSCO eBooks that have been purchased for Rhodes.

For further Help and Tutorials, Access the EBSCO eBooks User Guide via the Help option in the top right hand corner of the EBSCO Ebooks Page (See Below).

Legal Abbreviations and Law Dictionaries

Cardiff Index to Legal abbreviations
This site offers abbreviations for law report series, journals and some statutes. Searching is by title or abbreviation.The Index is under continuous development with new abbreviations and titles being added on a regular basis.

Claassen's Dictionary of Legal Words and Phrases (LexisNexis)

Merriam-Webster's Law Dictionary: Legal Terms in Plain English

Search more than 10,000 legal words and phrases for clear definitions written in plain language. An easy-to-understand guide to the language of law from the dictionary experts at Merriam-Webster.

The Law Dictionary by TheLaw.com includes over 23,000 legal terms, abbreviations and maxims.

WEX is the Legal Information Institute's free legal dictionary and encyclopedia.

Latin dictionary online
Lexilogos is a comprehensive set of resources
for the study of the languages of the world

Explore e-books

E-Books - Rhodes Library Guide This link opens in a new window

Search All

Search All tutorial

Please watch I want to use ...Search All

Online reference sources

Oxford English Dictionary Online
The definitive record of the English language.

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
core collection of titles includes a broad selection of over 100 dictionary and reference titles across the subject spectrum
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Oxford Scholarship Online e-books in various subject areas such as Political Science, Economics & Finance, Psychology, and others. Full text to Law not available, abstracts only.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
Disciplines: Anthropology, Demography, Economics, Education, History, Linguistics. Philosophy, Political science, Clinical psychology and applied psychology, Cognitive psychology and cognitive science, Developmental psychology, social psychology, personality psychology and motivational psychology, Sociology

International Trade Resiurces

Adapting to the Digital Trade Era
Challenges and Opportunities Edited by Maarten Smeets Adapting to the Digital Trade Era: Challenges and opportunities looks at how the rapid adoption of digital technologies could help developing countries increase their participation in world trade. It also reviews the role that domestic policies and international cooperation can play in creating a more prosperous and inclusive future for these countries.
Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures Agreement: 10 key results from 2020
The WTO Committee on Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures (SPS) conducts an annual review of the implementation of the SPS Agreement. This brochure provides ten key results from the 2020 review.
Short Answers to Big Questions on the WTO and the Environment
This publication by the Trade and Environment Division of the World Trade Organization (WTO) aims at improving understanding of the role of trade and trade rules with regards to environmental issues.
Strengthening Africa’s Capacity to Trade Open global trade has had positive effects for African industrialization and development
This report looks at efforts to help African countries strengthen their trading capacity and take fuller advantage of the benefits that trade brings. The report looks into the effects of COVID-19 on Africa, the latest trends in African trade and how the WTO is providing support through the WTO-led Aid for Trade initiative and in areas such as trade facilitation, compliance with regulatory standards for trade, and technical assistance.
Technical Barriers to Trade Agreement: 10 key results from 2020 The WTO Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT) conducts an annual review of the implementation of the TBT Agreement
This brochure provides ten key results from the 2020 review. The booklet focuses on members’ compliance with notification requirements under the TBT Agreement and the concerns raised in the TBT Committee, often in response to these notifications. Governments are required to “notify” other members, through the WTO Secretariat, of proposed measures that may have a significant effect on other members’ trade and that are not in accordance with relevant international standards
Trading into a bright energy future
The case for open, high-quality solar photovoltaic markets Open global trade has been an important factor in the rapid deployment of solar photovoltaic technologies around the world.
WTO Agreement Series: Technical Barriers to Trade Third Edition
This fully revised and updated edition of Technical Barriers to Trade provides an overview of the WTO’s TBT Agreement, the full legal text of the Agreement, and the decisions and recommendations adopted by the TBT Committee since 1 January 1995. It is the latest title in the WTO Agreements Series, which aims to assist public understanding of the WTO agreements.
WTO Dispute Settlement: One-Page Case Summaries (1995-2020) 2021 Edition
WTO Dispute Settlement: One-Page Case Summaries covers all panel and Appellate Body reports adopted by the WTO’s Dispute Settlement Body (DSB) up to 31 December 2020. Devoting a single page to each dispute, it provides a succinct summary of the key findings of every panel report and, where applicable, the relevant Appellate Body report.

Law Library: Finding e-books, books & reference sources

Accessing e-books on Ebsco and ProQuest