LibGuides: Biochemistry & Microbiology ; Biotechnology: Databases/e-resources/articles/journals

Databases & e-resources: A - O

ACM Digital Library
Full text of every article ever published by ACM. Bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.
Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in the scientific literature.
arXiv
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics
BioMedCentral
Over 200 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology and medicine

BioOne This link opens in a new window
BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.

EBSCOhost Research Databases
Multidisciplinary content.

Select required databases
GoogleScholar
Multidisciplinary content. The academic content of Google. Use in conjuction with Scopus and ISI Web of Science
GreenFILE via EBSCOhost
All aspects of human impact to the environment. Select from the list of databases
InCites ™
InCites is a customized, citation-based research evaluation tool on the Web that enables you to analyze institutional productivity and benchmark your output against peers worldwide.

Jove
JoVE Video Journal - peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal, publishing experimental techniques in a visual format with text protocols.

JoVE Science Education - use the innovative video collections to better teach and learn key concepts and fundamental techniques. These simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations cover a wide range of STEM subjects including Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Psychology, Clinical Medicine, and Engineering.

Please watch the About JoVE(Journal of Visualized Experiments) video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HTZkOq9jlCw.

JSTOR
Multidisciplinary content. Archived to first issues. Current issues embargoed.
Oxford Reference
Range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date &cross-searchable dictionary, language reference & subject reference works published by OUP, Detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the Oxford Companions series

Databases & e-resources: P - W

PubMed
Millions of citations: biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals & online books
Reaxys
Reaxys is the largest chemical database. Reaxys combines over a billion chemistry data points with AI to support innovation in drug discovery, chemical R&D and academia. Chemists can quickly access relevant patent, substance and bioactivity insights, and an award-winning retrosynthesis tool.

Sabinet Discover
- This link opens in a new window
Sabinet Discover is the ultimate information services tool providing seamless access to comprehensive African legal, news and research content. The platform allows subscribers and non-subscribers to discover and effortlessly access the richness of Sabinet’s information services.

ScienceDirect
Leading full-text database offering journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals

SciFinder-n
SciFinder-n is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.

Registering an account: You are required to register in order to use the web version. Please complete the registration process first - https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=CE06ECB9-86F3-50AB-13C4-B00F977EC533. Please note that you must have a Rhodes email address (for web access registration).

Scopus
Highly recommended: Multidisciplinary journal articles
Web of Science
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED:
Arts & Humanities Citation Index:1975+
Social Sciences Citation Index:1975+
Science Citation Index Expanded:-1975+

BrowZine Journal Lookup

Subject Specific - BrowZine

Subscribed journals by publisher deal

Off-campus users (staff and students) should note that they will be prompted for a staff/student barcode and PIN in order to access the library resources.

If you do not have access please register here for your "My Library account" - note that you must select your own PIN & that you must be registered for the current year as a Library user

Please find the 'How To' guide here

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery
American Chemical Society journals This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Journals This link opens in a new window
Elsevier (via ScienceDirect) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Royal Society of Chemistry This link opens in a new window
The Royal Society of Chemistry publishes 44 peer-reviewed journals, more than 1,500 print books and a collection of online databases and literature updating services. Their international publishing portfolio covers the core chemical sciences including related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics. Subscription includes access to the Archives 1841-2004.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Springerlink This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis online This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window