Skip to main content
Banner Image

Margaret Smith Library, SAIAB: Home

The library at the South African Institute for Aquatic Biodiversity contributes to research and teaching in the aquatic sciences through heritage collections and a global web of data. Resources and services are shared with Rhodes University Library

Welcome to the SAIAB Library

HOURS AND CONTACT DETAILS

MON - FRI 08h00-13h00; 14h00-17h00,
Closed weekends and public holidays

Find us on the lower ground floor of the SAIAB Building, Somerset Street, Grahamstown. Maps

Tel   046-603-5838 / 046 603-5802
Fax  046-622-2403

Private Bag 1015
GRAHAMSTOWN
6140 South Africa

Ask the Librarians  |  SAIAB Website  |  Brochure

Accessing RU Library e-resources at Margaret Smith Library

Rhodes University Library users connecting from SAIAB IP addresses are in the category Off-campus users.

To access the library resources you will be prompted for:

  • library login name
    as registered at the library
  • barcode number
    off the back of your card, or for:​
    Rhodes students: enter 6 and student number, e.g.:612M1234​
  • PIN

If you do not have access please register here for your "My Library Account"

you must select your own PIN

you must be registered for the current year as a RU Library user

Note: The librarians at SAIAB cannot register you -- you will have to do this at the main RU Library Circulation front desk.

Some databases may be accessed on-campus only due to publisher licensing restrictions.

Eduroam

 

 

This network is intended for staff & students from Rhodes as well as from other eduroam participating organisations.

academic email address@wf.ru.ac.za
and password

Rhodes students
student number@wf.ru.ac.za 
and password

Quick Links to Library Resources

Search All
  


The new default search across various catalogues for
print and e-resources, digital collections, media and more.
Can be refined by library location, format or collection

Other Searches


​OPAC (The Online Catalogue "Classic Search")
Find books, journal titles, databases, multimedia.

Google Scholar
This link at Rhodes University Library lets you access Rhodes Library subscribed journals and view the full text of the articles. Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts etc.

E-journals A-to-Z
Alphabetical list and links to electronic journals arranged by subject disciplines accessible at Rhodes Library

E-books A - Z

E-books LibGuide

Databases A-Z 
Alphabetical list and links to database titles accessible at Rhodes Library

Databases by Subject
Link to general databases and databases for your subject/discipline

Past exam papers
Access past exam papers at RUConnected 

Subject guides
Find a guide relevant to your academic subject, or a general information/research support guide

Theses and Dissertations
Links to Rhodes University and elsewhere

Rhodes Digital Commons
Institutional repository of digitised material and digital collections

Popular reading 
Take a break from your academic work, and enjoy reading some of the books in this section

Newspapers, news sources and popular magazines
A guide to news publications in the Library and links to other news sources

New books display
List of new books displayed on Level 1 of the library. Updated weekly